DEV Community

Cover image for How do you bookmark and take notes?
Aahnik Daw
Aahnik Daw

Posted on

How do you bookmark and take notes?

As developers, we encounter a huge amount of information every single day.

GitHub repositories, dev.to articles, Medium articles, YouTube videos, blog posts on independent websites, courses, documentation of libraries we are using, and the list goes on.

platform jungle

We need a simple and efficient system to bookmark or save interesting stuff. Sometimes we also need to note down things we learned.

We have all been there. Google searching a piece of content that we encountered earlier, and not getting that easily, as we forgot the specifics.

Saving everything in a centralized system, with proper categorization and tagging, can help us find stuff faster.

There are many ways to do it. Like:

  • Using the native bookmarking feature of our browsers.
  • Platform-specific ways like Star on GitHub or Save on dev.to or Save to Watch Later on YouTube.
  • A GitHub repository can be used to store all the notes as markdown files. A bookmark is also a note. All notes are organized into topic-wise sub-folders.
  • Using GitHub issues to save the content. They are fast to create, and also taggable. GitHub offers a very efficient search across issues.
  • A database in a platform like Notion is a great choice. You can use Save to Notion browser extension to save content to it.
  • Using a bookmarking software (most of which are paid) for example :

    and so on.


What system or tools do you use to bookmark and take notes?

Is it free and open source?

Did you ever change your technique? Are you satisfied with your technique?

What are the pros and cons of the tool/technique you use?

Please answer these questions in the comments. I would love to know how people deal with this thing.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
mrrcollins profile image
Ryan Collins

Notes are in a Git repo. My Journal is a file in the repo, with the current year as the name (2021.md). Every night at midnight a job runs to append the current date to the journal.

Entries to the journal include things that are happening and things I want to remember.

Iā€™m currently working on a Telegram Bot that lets me add items to the Journal, tasks to my to do list (todo.taskpaper) and quotes to my quotes file (quotes.md).

For bookmarks I use a private Telegram group called Bookmarks along with Shaarli.

Collapse
 
aahnik profile image
Aahnik Daw • Edited

@mrrcollins what library are you using to build the telegram bot ?

please also check my telegram bots:

GitHub logo aahnik / tgcf

A simple script to forward all the messages of one chat (private/group/channel) to another. Made using Telethon. Can be used to back up the contents of a chat to another place.


GitHub logo aahnik / telewater

A telegram bot that applies watermark on images, gifs, and videos.


GitHub logo aahnik / webhook-aiogram-heroku

A sample telegram bot made with aiogram, that fetches updates using the web-hook connection. Can be easily deployed to Heroku.


GitHub logo aahnik / run-py-bot

A telegram bot that runs python code. Evaluate pythonic expressions on the go, right from your chat. Find on telegram @runPython_bot


GitHub logo aahnik / howdoi-telegram

Are you a hack programmer? Do you find yourself constantly Googling for how to do basic programming tasks? Get instant coding answers from Stack Overflow in your Telegram chat. Save time and have fun.

Collapse
 
mrrcollins profile image
Ryan Collins

I'm going to check out your bots!

For mine, I'm using python-telegram-bot. I'm not much of a Python programmer, but I was able to hack something together for my bot.

Collapse
 
eo4wellness profile image
EO4Wellness • Edited

I would definitely be interested in reading / seeing what systems others have invented to tackle this all-too common issue. I've read a bit about this in various SLACK or Discord dev rooms, but nothing which worked for my own set of circumstances. My current approach (or shall I say experiment in solving this issue)? A TIL (today i learned) repo with folders organized by topics for notes (.md files) and code snippets (including the source url). I find the note-taking slows me down and I tend to remember things easier. Only down side I've discovered so far, as I go, I 're-organize' things into better arrangements to find things again and then the images become "alt image" text and no longer function until I rediscover them and fix the new image url links.

Collapse
 
aahnik profile image
Aahnik Daw

Hi, please share the link of this post in various groups and channels, so that everyone can unify, and create a great discussion