DEV Community

Abhishek Raj
Abhishek Raj

Posted on • Updated on

How I built a URL Shortener?

alt text

Recently, I launched my Anonymous URL Shortening service Sotly.co with really awesome analytics.

In this blog, I will be talking about how I created this wonderful service.

I have used many URL Shortening service but I saw every where I had to use my email address to short the URL if I wanted to see the analytics. I wanted to use some shortener where I didn't need to use my email address to watch the analytics as sometimes I didn't want to share my email.

I made the flow chart of the system design. I used React to create the frontend, as it is very easy to learn and then used Express in the backend.

Do checkout the service here -> https://sotly.co and comment down your reviews.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
sloan profile image
Sloan the DEV Moderator

Hi there, we encourage authors to share their entire posts here on DEV, rather than mostly pointing to an external link. Doing so helps ensure that readers don’t have to jump around to too many different pages, and it helps focus the conversation right here in the comments section.

If you choose to do so, you also have the option to add a canonical URL directly to your post.

Collapse
 
abhishekraj272 profile image
Abhishek Raj

This is the whole post!!

Collapse
 
kamalhossain profile image
Kamal Hossain

Working very fast. Nice work.

Collapse
 
abhishekraj272 profile image
Abhishek Raj

Thanks for the feedback Kamal.
Would also love to have feedback on the analytics :)