DEV Community

Alex R.
Alex R.

Posted on

How were you affected by COVID in your daily routine, and what changes did you notice in your productivity?

I’m really curious to know and explore this tabu topic as I have friends that write software for a living and seem somewhat affected by the disease.

I mentioned the software field because I can quickly recognise some exact tiny bits that bubble up in conversations and just don’t add up. Things like gaps in explaining some intricate code piece, or gaps in knowledge for language features or simple things the individual used to know really really well.

Some examples I captured in my mind during conversations around the subject: “having trouble focusing”, “hard to recollect shortcuts for tool X”, “things I once knew extremely well seem sort of blurred now”, “hard to enter into flow”.

The list goes on and on, but it touches the same idea: some degree of degradation in focus and/or ability to recollect simple things.

Mental health is still a complicated topic to navigate in most social circles - that’s why I’m asking you.

Would love to know if you can share your any bit of experience or any kind of resource that can help ease or overcome or revert these effects - thanks.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
pyrsmk profile image
Aurélien Delogu

Isn't just fatigue? I have a bad health and I'm dealing with fatigue constantly and it seems that the person's you talked with just need some time to recover. Also, I recently had covid and I was more fatigued than before for two weeks.

Symptoms of fatigue are usually : difficulties to concentrate, difficulties to use your memory, difficulties to think, headaches, unable to do an effort for too long,...

Collapse
 
alexandrughinea profile image
Alex R.

Appreciate your answer mate, many thanks!
Stay safe out there!