DEV Community

Alex Georgiev
Alex Georgiev

Posted on

What are the first things you do on a brand new laptop or PC?

Hello all,

I would like to know what are the first steps you take on a brand new laptop or PC. I personally use Linux, macOS and Windows so the process is always different. I also try to help my family and friends when they buy a new laptop and set it up for them.

I'm curious to hear what you do on your new laptops or gaming/work PCs and what you'll perform on a friend or family member laptop as well.

I'll be glad to hear what are the first things you do on your:

  • Work/Productive Laptops / PC / Raspberry PIs / Intel NUC, etc
  • Entertainment Setups - This can be a Laptop or Gaming Station
  • What you do on a laptop for a family member or a friend to ensure they will have everything they need for a daily use.

Top comments (32)

Collapse
 
edwardconway profile image
EdwardConway • Edited

When I get a new laptop or PC, I first customize the desktop background – gotta make it feel like "mine," you know? 😄 Then, I'm all about setting up my preferred browser and connecting to the internet ASAP. It's like opening the door to a world of possibilities! Speaking of PCs, if you're ever torn between a laptop or a desktop, I came across a cool article that might help. Super helpful insights on making that decision.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Yeah, I have this same burning feeling to change the default wallpaper, taskbar and other stuff right away. :D

Collapse
 
shinyemeraldgames profile image
ShinyEmeraldGames

Install a linux distro (currently I'm on Ubuntu). Then I install ungoogled chromium, unity, vs code, Lmms, krita and other tools I need for game development and coding in general.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Thanks for sharing this! Can you share how is the general performance of the ungoogled chromium?

Collapse
 
shinyemeraldgames profile image
ShinyEmeraldGames

It's really great. You can customise it, e.g. so it deletes cookies after you close the browser. Of course, it features bookmarks and all of the other features most browsers have these days. It's basically like Google Chrome but all of the google integration is removed, so they can't spy on all the things you do within the browser. It's privacy oriented and does not share data. It also is extremely fast and you can install most chrome extensions via CXR installation.

Thread Thread
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Thanks! Do you use the build-in password management or you use third-party software like LastPass and etc?

Thread Thread
 
shinyemeraldgames profile image
ShinyEmeraldGames

I currently don't use any password manager, but I'm looking for one currently. Which one do you use? The password manager in ungoogled chromium is good, but I don't use it since I can't transfer them to other devices

Thread Thread
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

I'm using LastPass and it's really good and simple to use.

Thread Thread
 
shinyemeraldgames profile image
ShinyEmeraldGames

Ok I'll check it out

Thread Thread
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

I recently upgraded to the Family plan to sync all my devices as well.

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

If it’s Windows (which I only really use for gaming), the first step for me is always doing a clean reinstall of Windows, followed by installing Chocolatey and using that to pull in all the stuff I care about that isn’t handled through some game launcher or storefront. Usually the process also involves a lot of cursing at PowerShell (it’ß great for scripting, but horrendous for interactive usage).

If it’s Linux, the first step is beating the distro over the head to let me set up the storage stack the way I want (I’m super picky about how I set up my filesystems, and most distros do not work quite right out of the box for my usage), usually mixed with pulling in the relatively standard set of packages I use almost everywhere (ZSH, Vim, GNU screen, htop, and a bunch of other tools).

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Hello, Austin

Thanks for sharing this! I also tend to use PowerShell scripts to enable/disable some features on Windows. On Linux, I set up new ssh-keys and add them to my servers, also I setup .zsh and install some additional software like VS Code, Sublime Text and etc.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

What I usually do is to start with:

  • Install Chrome and import my bookmarks
  • Import my .bashrc alias
  • Generate a new SSH key
  • Install Notion
  • Install an email client, I'm quite happy with Thunderbird
  • Install VS code with some extensions that I use on daily basis
  • Install Docker

Those are the first main things, then I go with the flow and install any other apps whenever I need to!

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Thanks for sharing this, Bobby!

Collapse
 
josee9988 profile image
Jose Gracia Berenguer • Edited

For Linux or ubuntu machines I have built a script that installs all my configuration files and all my essential programs so I can just ./script and forget about all the basic setup :D

For Windows machines, I do kind of the same but for debbloating the system. I use some PowerShell scripts to uninstall all the garbage windows adds

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

That is a great idea! I was thinking of doing the same at some point, but I never really completed the script. This might be a good time to get back to this.

Collapse
 
danidiaztech profile image
Daniel Diaz
  1. Install Linux :)
  2. Configuring software and installing coding tools
  3. Fixing minor details and clone some scripts I've written on my github.
Collapse
 
danidiaztech profile image
Daniel Diaz

Oh I almost forget it:
Install Fish the best shell in the earth, and obviously configure my .bashrc and config.fish files.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

I've used fish in the past, but atm I'm using ohmyzsh and if I need to find some command or ssh to a server that I already heave somewhere in the bash history file I use the reverse-search feature.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Hello, Daniel!

I also use some scripts from my previous configurations and with .zsh I also use pre-configured .bashrc/.zshrc file as well.

Collapse
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

The first thing you do on a new laptop or desktop is install Linux. Then install all of your favorite programs.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Do you happen to install the software with scripts or from any git repository or you install different software every time you configure new laptop?

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

ninite.com

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Oh this is pretty cool, haven't used it before.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

It's pretty awesome! I use it when I configure a laptop for a friend. You just ask them what they need and there you go!

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Hello, @madza

I've also used it in the past especially when I configure a laptop for a friend. It's really easy and quite fast to install everything you need at once.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

Switch off the ludicrous 'natural scrolling' mode on the trackpad

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

I was very tempted to do the same, but I decided to give it a go. I still have headache when I switch to my other laptops.

Collapse
 
thalitadev profile image
Thalita G.

I have a list of essential programs (with product keys) that I keep. For Windows I also turn off a bunch of visual effects out of personal preference.

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

I also tend to turn off some visual effects like the search bar on Windows 10. Feel free to share more details and screenshots if you're okay with it. I'll be happy to see your setup!

Collapse
 
zava810 profile image
viml kumar

unicase fonts vith underscore under pipe pipes out your commands uniformly
github.com/Font77/unicase_phonts

Collapse
 
alexgeorgiev17 profile image
Alex Georgiev

Thanks for sharing it!