DEV Community

Cover image for RenderATL : An Introvert’s worst nightmare … in the BEST way.
Amera White
Amera White

Posted on

RenderATL : An Introvert’s worst nightmare … in the BEST way.

Hi, my name is Amera and I am an introvert. I can easily be overwhelmed by spaces with lots of people or just a lot of movement in general. Just to put everything into perspective, I was elated when grocery stores began online shopping and delivery….you mean to tell me I don’t have to circle the produce section over and over again to find an opening for a head of cabbage…..genius 🤯!!

Just hear me out…I’m going somewhere with this, I promise.

In an attempt to network, engage, and “put myself out there”, I signed up to be an ambassador for RenderATL and was chosen. I was so excited to get the news and then it hit me… I have to go OUTSIDE. If you aren’t aware, RenderATL is a tech conference that brings the tech community together. In all transparency, I have never attended a tech conference and had no idea what to expect.

So, what do you do when you are unaware of something, you start doing your research… at least that is what I did. I began to look up information, watch YouTube videos, and read blog posts on other tech conferences. I needed to get an idea of what I may be coming across as I prepared for my role. That’s where I went wrong.

I quickly learned RenderATL is NOT like any other tech conference you’ll ever attend. It is a whole tech community experience.

As a noob in the tech space and an introvert, a conference like this is perfect. Let me tell you why. Jumping out of your comfort zone is tough, but every single person I encountered at RenderATL was rooting for me in some way. Greetings and smiles from every direction. Flows of good vibes and energy surrounded the entire event. There were so many strangers that left as friends, #irl Twitter reunions, and connections being made all around. I had the opportunity to meet people that have unknowingly inspired me during my tech journey from their podcasts, YouTube videos, blog posts, or even their courses. I shook hands with representatives from companies that many would dream of working with. I listened to speakers who shared their knowledge and advice on various topics, like “Neurodiversity In The Workplace “ by Wesley Faulkner and “Streaming Server Rendering with Suspense “ by Shaundai Person. There were great panel discussions about building community, leadership, and career growth from some amazing voices in the industry, including Anthony D. Mays, Kristina Dixon , Lawrence Lockhart, and so many more. The hosts of the event were super dope and all the staff were amazing.

It doesn’t just end there… RenderATL made it a point to encourage socializing with your peers. To let your guard down and engage with people you wouldn’t normally be in the position to speak with and get to know in comfortable social settings. There was a variety of after-hour events to choose to attend. You could go check out the latest cars at the EV Car Show or enjoy smooth R&B at the Skyline Park Rooftop Party, all while in the company of people who are also passionate about their profession in tech. To top it off, RenderATL ended the festivities with a live performance from KAYTRANADA at the Historic Fourth Ward Skatepark.

Justin E. Samuels (Founder-CEO of RenderATL) and the entire RenderATL team did an amazing job at curating this safe space for a beautifully diverse tech experience.

What I take away from this conference is to be okay with stepping out and embracing your surroundings, networking, and building your community. Some people are where you are in your career path or understand what you’re experiencing on your journey. Some genuine people want to see you excel in your journey.

Please do yourself a favor & Check out RenderATL

I’m looking forward to connecting with you at the next one… who knows, you may become an extrovert by the end of this conference.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
anthonydmays profile image
Anthony D. Mays

I love this, thanks for sharing and for showing up!!! It mattered to have you there!

Collapse
 
amera profile image
Amera White

I was happy to have the opportunity and engaged with such an embracing community! I can’t wait to get more involved.

Collapse
 
lawrencedcodes profile image
Lawrence Lockhart

What an awesome recap and thanks so much for the mention Amera!

Collapse
 
amera profile image
Amera White

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience! It was great learning from you.