DEV Community

Cover image for What coding language do you want to learn this year, and why?
Andy Piper
Andy Piper

Posted on

What coding language do you want to learn this year, and why?

I’m pretty much a polyglot programmer. Working as a Developer Advocate, I often find that I’m asked to help developers to integrate with our API in a language of their choice, but maybe one I don’t know so well. This is one of the coolest and most fun parts of my job, by the way - I get to learn new stuff, or go back and sharpen older skills, all the time. Most days, if I’m coding, I find myself in the worlds of Python, JavaScript, or C#.

From my DEV bio / profile page sidebar:

Generally capable across a range of languages... grew up on BBC BASIC and C, migrated into Perl, PHP, Java, Python, JS etc. with side dabblings in Ruby, Swift, Go and others...

I know quite a few things, but I rarely spend long enough in a programming space, to get to know it really deeply.

Most recently, I’ve been learning about MicroPython, and sharing my progress in a series here on DEV.

This year, I really want to do something with Rust. It has been interesting to me for a while, but I’ve yet to do anything with it. I admit, Jack Dorsey’s Tweet got me more interested…

I’ve done quite a bit with C in the past, working on things for Linux and GNOME, and I still do a lot of IoT and microprocessor stuff, so I think I’d like to spend time with Rust this year.

Tell me what you want to learn in 2022, and why? I’d love to chat about it in the comments!

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
defman profile image
Sergey Kislyakov • Edited

Elixir. I've tried it 2 years ago and it didn't feel good. But now I'm having a great time with it. I was stuck with understanding that Elixir processes are not the same as OS processes, once I got it and that each dependency in most cases is a mini application itself, it actually feels nice to do stuff in Elixir.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Ah this is interesting, I have a former coworker who wrote a lot of Erlang, and when I was at Pivotal there was a log of Erlang in RabbitMQ that was in our portfolio - Elixir (and Erlang by association, I know they are different languages!) is not something I've explored yet. One for the list...

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

somewhat related, this was just mentioned in a Slack group I use...

Collapse
 
mattjbones profile image
Matt 🦕

I’m really into Rust, I’m treating it as setting myself up for the future as it has fairly similar concepts to Scala so would be a nice jumping off point if I wanted to move away from #Frontend.

Rust was great to begin with, the docs are super helpful and it clicked after some trial and error. I tackled a medium sized port of a Deno / typescript library I wrote that does some OAuth type stuff - that was tougher but mostly got stuck around packages / folder structure than actual code.

Recently I managed to compile my app in GitHub as the first step to CI for my side-project, it’s verrry cool esp for a learning project.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Thanks for posting this, Matt! Yep, I think we've briefly mentioned Rust to one another in the recent past. Good to know how folks are learning about it (a friend on Twitter mentioned the Rust book by Tim McNamara, which I am going to check out).

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I'm not key on learning any new languages, I really want to up my Emacs Lisp, Ruby, and Javascript (in that order)

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I'd like to revisit my Ruby for sure, I feel very out-of-touch with that ecosystem lately! Lisp is so useful in multiple contexts (gaming and graphics package scripting)... I've always been a vi person over emacs (different discussion, I know, I know!!) so I never got into it in that context.

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I tried vim but the modal editing made my brain hurt. Emacs felt right (and I learned about evil-mode, so even vi folks have a home in Emacs)

Collapse
 
deathvenom54 profile image
Deathvenom

I am learning Go currently, and would love to dip my toes in Rust as well in the near future.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Nice! I used Go a lot more about 8-9 years ago, and then wandered away from it (partly because my work has me helping more developers using e.g. Python and Java and JavaScript). I just tried out TinyGo yesterday for the ESP32 board I'm working with, and that was pretty cool.

Collapse
 
deathvenom54 profile image
Deathvenom

Damn, I have never heard of it. I do have an Arduino lying around which I am guilty of never playing around with, because I don't like the language. Perhaps I could try building something now with it and TinyGo. Thanks!

Collapse
 
sarveshprajapati profile image
Sarvesh Prajapati • Edited

For me C programming language is the best way to start programming.. cause behind the many popular higher level language:
For more reference read this:
Which Programming Language to Learn and Why?

Collapse
 
voyeg3r profile image
Sérgio Araújo

I want to learn lua better, specially to improve my neovim and possibly to develop something new. Neovim with lua is very fast and extending the editor with it is awesome!

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Lua is really neat. This reminded me to look at NodeMCU to see whether I can get it to run on this ESP32 board, to run Lua code on it. Good thing to brush up on! I didn't know you can extend Neovim with Lua - TIL.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Oh! Also, Pico-8 uses Lua, and I keep meaning to try that!

Collapse
 
64j0 profile image
Vinícius Gajo

Elisp, to get better at Emacs.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Swift because I’m trying to make some app versions of web games I’m making.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Nice, Swift is a pretty friendly language.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Yeah I’ve heard that!

Collapse
 
ageekdev profile image
ΛGΣΣK

I'm getting bored with frontend stack and trying Go, Rust is definitely after that as I'm planning to expand my skills to backend.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Always be learning! Great to hear :-)

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

This series of 100 programming languages in a speed run is constantly fascinating to me, as well!

Collapse
 
tommyy profile image
De

Dart is definitely on my list! It powers Flutter and I think its got great potential.