DEV Community

Cover image for Interactive Solar System Exploration with CSS & JavaScript
Arjun Vijay Prakash
Arjun Vijay Prakash

Posted on

Interactive Solar System Exploration with CSS & JavaScript

This is a submission for Frontend Challenge v24.09.04, CSS Art: Space.

Inspiration āœØ

Today, I'm bringing to you an interactive solar system exploration project that brings the wonders of space to life.

The idea was to create a tool that lets users learn about planets and the solar system in a fun and engaging way.


Demo šŸ”„


Journey šŸ‘Øā€šŸ’»

This project tested my patience with pure CSS and JavaScript. Things not working, don't know why, then working all of a sudden - it was a rollercoaster ride.

But I gotta say - the journey of creating this project was filled with learning and experimentation.

I focused on building a user-friendly interface where people could search for planets and immediately see information about them.

The challenge was making the solar system look visually appealing while keeping it functional and educational.

Iā€™m proud of how the draggable facts component and the search functionality turned out, as it adds an interactive element that enhances the user experience.

Throughout this process, I learned a lot about combining creativity with coding.

Next, I plan to explore adding more detailed information and possibly 3D elements to the program.


Thank you for checking out my interactive solar system exploration project. šŸŽ‰

It was a challenging yet rewarding experience, blending creativity with coding.

I'm excited to continue improving it with more features and detail.

Your interest and feedback mean a lot to me.

Connect with me Linktree. Follow me on X.

Happy Coding! Thanks for 32003!

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
arjuncodess profile image
Arjun Vijay Prakash

@thepracticaldev @lesa_ns @ben

Hey! So sorry to tag you guys here, but I had a thought in mind -

Can you all please give me suggestions for improvements to my project? it would be really appreciated. Because I worked a lot on this one, so I would like to see where it lacked.

Thank you so much.

Collapse
 
amil_rotta_19ed695d39dc0a profile image
Amil Rotta • Edited

Iā€™m excited to share my submission for the Frontend Challenge v24.09.04, CSS Art: Space. My project is an interactive solar system exploration tool built with CSS and JavaScript. The goal was to create an engaging and educational experience that allows users to explore and learn about the planets and the solar system. I hope you find it both informative and visually appealing. Your feedback would be greatly appreciated!
@poly clinic

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Fun infographic.

Collapse
 
tmsh profile image
Tom S

This is really cool, but slightly broken on mobile; looks like .focusedPlanetInfo just needs a higher z-index to fix that though (like the facts dialog).

Collapse
 
arjuncodess profile image
Arjun Vijay Prakash

Right, I fixed that. Thanks for your review by the way!

Collapse
 
tiagomateus profile image
Tiago Mateus

awesome!!

Collapse
 
miguelrodriguezp99 profile image
Miguel

awesome!!

Collapse
 
martinbaun profile image
Martin Baun

When youre really in the zone :P
This is pretty cool can't wait to check it out later! I'd love to leave a review via videofeedbackr :)

Collapse
 
arjuncodess profile image
Arjun Vijay Prakash

Thanks! Looking forward to your review on VideoFeedbackr!

Collapse
 
greenflux profile image
GreenFlux

Awesome work!

Collapse
 
arjuncodess profile image
Arjun Vijay Prakash

Appreciate the kind words.

Collapse
 
ruiiz_dev profile image
Esteban Jimenez Ruiz

Very interesting!

Collapse
 
valentina_kiyungi_80e5fbb profile image
Valentina Kiyungi

Very nice

Collapse
 
maddy_05e4839a6ef8080f01e profile image
Madison A.

It's very interesting, keep going with your project!!

Collapse
 
arjuncodess profile image
Arjun Vijay Prakash

Thank you for your support.