DEV Community

ashish
ashish

Posted on

What's your most used JavaScript framework?

Most of the web developers tend to use JavaScript frameworks rather than using vanilla JavaScript. So, what's the one JavaScript framework you have got hooked into, what's your most used JavaScript framework and what made you stick to it?

For me, the framework is React, it's the framework I started with initially and then eventually moved on to Next.js, I have used react in most of my projects and now I'm trying out Vue.js.

Top comments (25)

Collapse
 
elibates profile image
Eli Bates • Edited

NextJs and using SvelteKit for lighter projects. I use Next because it’s been the most usable and complete production level react framework for a while now. Although I am considering trying out Remix. SvelteKit is pretty nice to work with for smaller projects due to the svelte syntax… but I don’t want to use it for large production apps at its current state.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

I'm thinking of learning sveltekit too once I get better in vuejs :)
I prefer using nextjs for my larger projects too 🤝

Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

Angular. I learned Angular on the job while working as a backend developer because I was interested in UI development (I was leaning React) and the company didn't have a UI developer on staff but they needed someone to make something using Angular. This opened the door to me UI development career.

Having Angular on my resume has kinda pigeonholed me in to only getting jobs that use Angular. I've been thinking about finding a cool open source project that uses React (or maybe Vue) so I can contribute and put it on my resume.

I've used React and Vue to build side projects, and recently made a new portfolio using Gatsby. You can check it out here.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

That's a lot of framework knowledge! I really like the minimal look of your portfolio ❤

Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

Thank you!

Collapse
 
jaeming profile image
jaeming

I've tried them all but I think if I was forced to choose I would probably land on React. I really like JSX (I actually hated it at first) and how composable it is. The api surface is small enough and hooks allow for building some really nice libraries and abstractions.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

I want to try them all too 😅

Collapse
 
brojenuel profile image
Jenuel Oras Ganawed

I learned reactjs first, then when I heard about vuejs I was hooked up with how easy it is to use and manipulate. Until now I am using VueJS on my Jobs/work and personal projects.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

Yes, same here though I use both react/next and vuejs depending on what I want to achieve in the project and which will make the process easier.

Collapse
 
imiahazel profile image
Imia Hazel

The more I use, the more I captured by ReactJS. React is now a must-have in my toolkit.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

Try using NextJS, it's react but packed with more features, I haven't used create-react-app even once after I transitioned to next 😀

Collapse
 
imiahazel profile image
Imia Hazel

Thanks for recommending NextJs. I used it a couple of days ago, and it is super cool. I am currently working on React Apps that will integrate with WordPress.

I have not much more idea about NextJs Apps integration in WordPress. Please recommend some stuff related to WordPress and NextJS.

I appreciate any help you can provide.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

Never heard of stimulus, would research a bit about it 🤔

Collapse
 
ryanallmad profile image
ryanAllMad

I like React and I haven't tried Next.js yet but it's on my list of todos!

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

I'm sure you'll like Next :)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

React and Next.js are my most used. Third would probably be Vue.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

Same! 🤝

Collapse
 
pontakornth profile image
Pontakorn Paesaeng

Do you also use Rails and Hotwire? I heard that Stimulus is perfect complement for Hotwire.

Collapse
 
pontakornth profile image
Pontakorn Paesaeng

I use Next.js most of the time now.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

Next = React on steroids 💪

Collapse
 
roman_22c01bcfb71 profile image
Roman

My most favorite: JQuery, JQuery UI.

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

I was actually going to explore JQuery after using vanilla javascript for months but instead I switched to react and got hooked on to it 😅