DEV Community

Cover image for Build an Accessible React Component: The Live Series
Ashlee (she/her)
Ashlee (she/her)

Posted on • Updated on

Build an Accessible React Component: The Live Series

Thank you!! 🎉

Last Tuesday's stream was fantastic! I now have two posts to add to my "Build a React & Firebase Blog Site" Series and am considering packaging the series up in an ebook format!

What's this about? 🤔

In the meantime, I've been thinking about topics for upcoming Tuesdays and have decided to make a whole series about building accessible React components. I have an a11y-components repository with a couple of things in it already, but needed a break from all things outside of work for a while. What better way to pick things back up than with a live series to add to the repository?

Neat! How's it going to work? ✨

Here's the idea: we'll pick a random widget from the WAI-ARIA Authoring Practices with an on-screen wheel, then build it in React! If a really complex component is chosen, it might take an extra stream to finish it, but we'll walk through the whole thing from start to finish!

Let's gooo! 🏃‍♀️

To get notified when I go live on stream, you can follow me on Twitch. If you can't catch the stream live, it'll still be available afterwards to re-watch! I also plan on uploading my videos to YouTube really soon since they don't stay on Twitch forever.


Did you know I have a newsletter? 📬

If you want to get notified when I publish new blog posts or make major project announcements, head over to https://ashleemboyer.com/newsletter.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
youssefrabeiii profile image
Youssef Rabei

Good luck, keep going.
What is a a11y , and can you please make the live on YouTube .

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her)

Hi, and thank you!

"a11y" is the shortened version of "accessibility" and is pronounced "a-eleven-y". The 11 is there because that's how many letters are between the "a" and "y" in the word. It's like "i18n" which is short for "internationalization"!

Also I don't currently go live on YouTube because I can only mod one platform at a time, but a recording of the Twitch stream will be uploaded to YouTube eventually!