DEV Community

Cover image for What are your thoughts on Stackbit?
Ashutosh Mishra
Ashutosh Mishra

Posted on

What are your thoughts on Stackbit?

I just tried Stackbit and to be honest it was one of the most amazing website builder I've tried,

Had I known about this before, I would not ever created an WordPress account.

Have you ever worked on Stackbit and what are your thoughts on WordPress vs Stackbit?

Share in the comment below.
Thank You.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
movaid7 profile image
Muhammad Vaid

Coming from a non web background, Stackbit seems awesome! Especially since I'm not a fan of the standard WordPress look.

I can get a beautiful looking site up and running with just a few clicks and even tie it to a no code CMS.

I just wish there were more appealing themes built around businesses, portfolios and e-commerce. Don't get me wrong, I have found themes that I've liked in each of those categories but I just wish I could find more. Most themes seem to be built for blogging.

Collapse
 
geauxweisbeck4 profile image
Andrew Weisbeck

Honestly, I lost a lot of respect for the company. I thought it was pretty cool but they seemed to be off on their product positioning. I didn't understand what made them different from Squarespace (their literal messaging was "we're like Squarespace") until I actually used it and fell in love with Stack Bit.

Anyways, I really wanted to work there. I took an awesome Product Positioning Sprint from Section 4 and I created a whole project for them to help them with their positioning. I didn't feel like they were reaching the people that they needed to be reaching - Non Web people who want to create awesome sites and work for businesses or own their own business.

I put in ALOT of time, effort, and research and I had really impressed my peers in my sprint.. Well I applied for a job and was super excited - I really thought I was going to at least get an interview because I actually coded a lot of the shit on there. They didn't even respond to my application - not even to admit they wouldn't hire me.

Maybe they took some of the feedback the wrong way or got offended, but I really though I was helping them out with this incredible knowledge I had just learned. Plus, their whole content seemed to change pretty quick after that. I'm not going to flatter myself and say I had anything to do with that change - but there were some resemblances of my suggestions being implemented. Maybe they were already aware and were working on it, but man, that was shitty to not say anything.

I used to LOVE Stack Bit. Now I want to cry when I look at their website lol

Collapse
 
katiekodes profile image
Katie

I like the idea of being able to do a simple Jekyll or 11ty site, which make arranging portions of HTML on a screen easy for me compared to PHP, but give a content author a WYSIWYG drag-and-drop experience, a pretty great concept.

I haven't put it into production with the site I have in mind, though. That'd require actually ever finishing that site's redesign.

Also, you have to plan ahead, mentally, for drag-and-drop when developing a theme's data structure.