DEV Community

Cover image for How I went from 12HR+ of Screen Time to less than 4HR!
Ashwin Chauhan🛸
Ashwin Chauhan🛸

Posted on

How I went from 12HR+ of Screen Time to less than 4HR!

Backstory

Last year I was on my phone all-day. I could not be with my phone for just 5 mins.

12HR+ Just imagine half of my day. I was so much addicted to it.

I was waking up and the first thing I would do is pick up my phone and scroll for hours before getting up from the bed.

This is was the highest daily average. I was on my phone. 13HR+ in a day!!
Alt Text
91HR+ in a week!

All I was doing is playing games, scrolling through Instagram, YouTube, and stuff like that. I was so depressed. There was not a single thing I was doing productive on the phone.

I wanted to change myself and get rid of this addiction.

How I got rid of this addiction

I was/am a big fan of Matt D'Avella. He is a YouTuber. You might have watched some of his videos.

He posted this video Why I'm downgrading to a flip phone. just when I was ready to make a move to get rid of this addiction.

It was about downgrading to a flip phone for 30 days and not using a smartphone.

I started the challenge on November 1st, 2020 but I wasn't gonna use even a flip phone. I thought how could I go without a phone for 30 days straight I am so dependent on my phone.

But I somehow gave it go.

How did I spent those 30 days without the phone

So, 1st day in and I was so bored. I had so much time. I somehow had to spend those 12HR+ on other things.

As 1st week went I was doing pretty good. I was surprised that I wasn't getting any urges of using my phone.

I started doing more productive things.

Sharpened my HTML/CSS skills with all the time I had.

After 30 days

I finally completed 30 days without using the phone. I could not believe myself. From more than half of the day on phone to 0 hours.

1st day after the challenge I used my phone. But I couldn't use it for too long.

It's hard to explain but my brain was like pushing me to not use my phone.

I was so proud of myself.😍

Now, I just have an average screen time of less than 4HRS in a day
Screenshot_20210228_172552.jpg

Now, I'm learning a ton of stuff with the free time I have every day. So happy I took that challenge.

Everyone should do this challenge once if they feel addicted to their phone. I bet you'll get rid of this addiction too.

I hope this was helpful to everyone♥

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!

Collapse
 
ashwindevx profile image
Ashwin Chauhan🛸

Thank you! Ben