DEV Community

Cover image for Meme Monday
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Meme Monday

Meme Monday!

Today's cover image comes from last week's thread.

DEV is an inclusive space! Humor in poor taste will be downvoted by mods.

Top comments (91)

Collapse
 
dinerdas profile image
Diner Das

meme monday

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

I published a new comiCSS cartoon, and it is number 100, so I'm happy 🥳🎉🎊💯

Comic with 2 panels parody of a scene of the movie Titanic. In the first panel, a man (Jack) and a woman (Rose) are at the front of a ship named Titanic, with their arms extended and smiling. Rose says: 'I have a secret Jack: I use divs as buttons'. In the second panel, Jack has pushed Rose over the rails and she falls into the ocean.

Also, please, never use a <div> instead of a <button>.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

I'm not using them instead ov buttons — but is it fine to use as as buttons?

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro • Edited

@baenencalin In my opinion, you should use <button> for a button, and not <a>. But the answer to your question is a "maybe?" as there could be exceptions.

There are some situations (e.g. when a service like login or payment methods are handled by an external site) when it's a gray area what element should be used: semantically, it makes sense to style an <a> to look like a button because, although they are punctual actions (login, payment, etc.), they redirect the website to somewhere else (the external service) and will eventually come back. It's not a one-size-fits-all type of thing. Once that's said, most of the cases I've found a <div>/<a> to behave like a <button> didn't fall on those categories, and they should have definitely been a <button>.

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

Sorry for the long answer :$

Thread Thread
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫 • Edited

If it is meant to be a button, it should be in the <button> tag. If the button is meant to be a hyperlink to another page, place the <a> tag inside the <button> tag.

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro • Edited

@sarahokolo I wouldn't recommend that, as it will most likely end up being invalid HTML. An interactive element (<a> with an href attribute) cannot be inside of another interactive element (<button>). (Reference)

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

I'm not using the a in the button — I am using the a as the button.
I'm doing this for navigation-buttons specifically; the as are styled to resemble normal buttons (and less-so with the ones on the navigation-bar).
My website is an example ov what I am talking about.

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

It's fine — and appreciated.

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro • Edited

@baenencalin the comment about <a> inside of <button> was for Sarah. I tagged the comments to avoid confusions. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

In the case of a navigation, it seems like a case for a link that may look like a button (although it is not, and won't have the role="button") but it is still a link. Sorry, I couldn't see your page because it returns a 404.

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Sorry, I couldn't see your page because it returns a 404.

Weird.
Why would my DEV profile return a 404 when my account exists?

 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

What about in the case ov page-navigation?
Data isn't being handled, it's a static site — but I believe I chose correctly.

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus • Edited

Here's an interesting case of using <a> as Button from Bootstrap current docs.
From : getbootstrap.com/docs/5.3/componen...

Image description

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

This is rather interesting — stylistically, I can imagine an <a role="button"> looking good for collapsing or expanding content — in fact, I'm convinced there is at least one site that takes such an approach.

Thread Thread
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

It's not a matter of looking good. With CSS you can make a link look like a button, and a button look like a link, and they both will stylistically look good. Nobody would be able to tell which is which. The problem in this case is that collapsing/expanding content is an action and not a redirection. Yes, a <a role="button"> styled to look like a button will work, as a <div> would do, or a <span> or any other HTML element, but they are not the correct semantic element.

Thread Thread
 
auroratide profile image
Timothy Foster

The only time I've ever thought to use an a as a button was for a login button in navigation, where the ask was for it to open up a modal on the page. Sounds great, until we realize some people don't have Javascript, so the purpose of using an a tag was as a fallback to link to a login page.

Javascript adds role="button", and if javascript is disabled, well then the role remains a link.

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

It's very niche, and I guess I don't have much experience to talk, but that sounds like a really neat solution to an edge-case.

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

Guess I'm OK because I use !

Collapse
 
devdufutur profile image
Rudy Nappée • Edited

Actually you should use a < a > (or whatever with rôle=link) when you link to another page and a < button > (or whatever with rôle=button) when there is an onpage interaction (or a form submission). That said you can style them as you want, if you want to lose your users 😁

Collapse
 
dreama profile image
Dream

meme monday

Collapse
 
cmgustin profile image
Chris Gustin

Image description

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

A curlyboy with no friend would slam dunk even the greatest computer program 😂

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

lol

Collapse
 
drsensor profile image
૮༼⚆︿⚆༽つ

Image description

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

Learning details of web frameworks: Either one of those pictures could be the "AFTER" picture.

Collapse
 
drsensor profile image
૮༼⚆︿⚆༽つ

good idea! let's see if I can edit it on next monday

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Image description

How do u know it's a frustrating day?

Collapse
 
max24816 profile image
Max

when you are a Python 🐍 developer switch to ReactJs with TypeScript ☠

Image description

Collapse
 
duncan_true profile image
Dun

meme monday

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Honestly, I'm surprised they didn't take the opportunity to switch the file-path-scheme with Windows 11 — I think that could have been a golden opportunity for unification.

Collapse
 
darthwalsh profile image
Carl Walsh

I don't think there's a way to make the change backwards compatible. Any old program would need to be recompiled? Then you'd end with the majority of customers staying with Windows 10--oh wait!

Collapse
 
sedwin97 profile image
Sedwin97

Clever

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

Image description

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

What is QA?

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

Quality Assurance

Thread Thread
 
tyisi profile image
TyIsI

Who/what is that?! /s

Collapse
 
ugbabeog profile image
UgbabeOG

Image description

Collapse
 
cheuksing profile image
Tommy Chan

I can't get it on the first time because I was thinking the issue is missing the closing quote.

Collapse
 
michalispapamichael profile image
Michalis Papamichael

Good ol'meme here

Collapse
 
bernert profile image
BernerT

meme monday

Collapse
 
parimaldesign profile image
Parimal

When I hear an HR mention something ridiculous like this, I go "Could you please repeat yourself ?" Once they do, I ask "Do people still apply and go through the interview process after hearing that ?"

Collapse
 
jjbb profile image
Jason Burkes

meme monday

Collapse
 
syxaxis profile image
George Johnson

When I'm working with unix admins I use "directory", when I'm with Win/Mac admins I use "folder", and when I code I use "path". I'm just a tech "whore" who will "be whatever you need me to be"! Ha ha!!

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Can you elaborate on this meme?
I do not understand.

I know a directory is (usually) more broad in sense, but I am unsure what distinguishes it from a "folder" conceptually.

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

You can CD (change directory) at the command line (aka console) but you can't CF (change folder). 😁
I think Directory is just an older term used at command line and then when GUIs came along people saw the yellow folder and started calling them folders.

Nothing more than that really.

Thread Thread
 
darthwalsh profile image
Carl Walsh

I understand directory to be a technical term for a concept of the file system, strictly related to inodes. Folders are a more general topic, including folders in the Registry or when viewing the old control panel from Explorer.

Thread Thread
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

What are inodes? And what makes folders more general?

Thread Thread
 
darthwalsh profile image
Carl Walsh

This seems like a good description: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inode?wprov=...

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

Recieving my first star🌟 on gitbub
Image description

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

Image description

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

Image description

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

I feel this meme way too hard... I have one domain that's like 100€ lol

Collapse
 
darthwalsh profile image
Carl Walsh

Instead of registering a new domain name for each project, I just register a subdomain. If the project ever earns $10 then I can buy it a domain.