DEV Community

Cover image for New Machine; New Browser
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

New Machine; New Browser

I got a new MacBook Pro. I like to take these times to refresh my application use, and one choice of mine is to go in on Firefox as my default browser.

It's hard to find the time for new habits, even things as simple as browser switching, but this is as good a time as any.

I'm going with Firefox for a few reasons...

  • Browser diversity: With Microsoft Edge moving to Chromium, we are that much closer to the mono-browser. This is worth resisting.
  • Support for Mozilla: All else equal, I'm excited to be a user of the open source non-profit.
  • Privacy: Google and/or Microsoft don't need to know any more about me than they already do.
  • Performance and craftsmanship: I get the notion that Firefox is being developed on a solid foundation and making a lot of good longterm choices.
  • It's a perfectly fabulous browser all around. I'm not missing anything I had with Chrome.

I think Chrome, V8, etc. have done incredible things for the web. I'm not anti-Chrome in an overly impassioned way, but I'm very happy to be taking the Firefox plunge.

Top comments (82)

Collapse
 
ryansmith profile image
Ryan Smith

I do not mind the mono-browser at all. I think that there will still be diversity because everyone will have their flavor of Chromium and it is open source. Even though it is Google's product, a company like Brave can make its own privacy-focused version of it. Browser diversity has been a challenge for most web developers over the years and with the rendering and feature support being universal, a lot of that will be alleviated. It also will help us as users because big companies will contribute to Chromium and it will be even better. Microsoft has already made some great contributions and I'm looking forward to them continuing to work on it. If those vendors disagree with where Chromium is headed, they can change direction.

Collapse
 
pavelloz profile image
Paweł Kowalski

Chromium as open source is just a decoy. Google is killing diversity using their licensed DRM. Read more: blog.samuelmaddock.com/posts/googl...

Collapse
 
anrodriguez profile image
An Rodriguez

Wouldn't a mono browser weaken an open, standard-compliant, web?
Wouldn't the main developer of the mono-browser have too much control (think Google or Microsoft a while back.)

Collapse
 
ryansmith profile image
Ryan Smith

I think it could happen, but I don't think it will just yet. I think the fears may be based on historical reasons. I do not see any indication that Chromium is adding proprietary, non-standard features in its rendering engines or adding shady things to it (I haven't looked at the source, but I trust that I would see the uproar if that did happen). If Chromium departs from standards, everyone will see it happening because the source code is available. If Google neglects the upkeep of Chromium, there is a community to help. I'm not sure of the licensing for it, but I believe companies can also fork their own version of it and distribute it.

It is definitely good to think about though. From a historical standpoint, Internet Explorer was dominant and from a lot of people's perspectives, that ended up hurting the web. I do not believe it is fair to throw shade on Microsoft for that, they built a browser that shipped with the most popular operating system. There wasn't a great alternative until Firefox and Chrome came around.

Android is another open-source project by Google. Phone manufacturers have their own versions of it. Open-source communities have their own versions. I think Chromium can be similar in that way.

Collapse
 
stegriff profile image
Ste Griffiths

Firefox is fantastic, I love it, it's been my main browser for 8 years of coding. Good choice!

Extra LIBERTY tip, set DDG as your default search and then you can always use bangs (duckduckgo.com/bang) from the search bar. Much more powerful than picking between different search engines!

Collapse
 
maxdevjs profile image
maxdevjs

Happened a couple times to search for a cryptic error message on DDG and found two or three results maximum, and trying with some other search engine found several (a lot) more (not sure how many effectively pertinent). Any clue about this behaviour?

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

Dunno about that but if you're not aware of this little trick, you can always search through DDG with "g!" tacked at the end of your search query. Will take you to Google search without the tracking (unless you're signed in of course).

There are other shortcuts like this as well for Wikipedia and such.

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Duck duck go is great! Search has really improved since the ‘old days’ and privacy for the win! Their browser is good too - Brave.

Collapse
 
firatcansucu profile image
Fıratcan Sucu

Brave is not DDG's product. They are separate companies.

Thread Thread
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Ah ok for some reason i had it in my head they were linked!

Thread Thread
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Anyway, both great products with a similar privacy-first focus

Collapse
 
lehmannsystems profile image
Mike

What makes them better than Chrome devtools?

Collapse
 
hellonehha profile image
Neha Sharma

FF has dedicated tab for accessibility which shows accessibility tool and how each node is behaving.

FF also has dedicated tab with sliders to play with font size, line height, weight etc. With drop down of switching between different css units.

It also gives very dev friendly view of flex and grids. This helps a lot in debugging.

Thread Thread
 
nathanminchow profile image
Nathan Minchow

I think Chrome and Firefox each have their own strengths, but Firefox is really great for any kind of layout/styling work. Grid inspector is fantastic.

Collapse
 
webdevinci profile image
webdevinci

Lackluster comped to chrome Dev tools. A11y has been a staple feature in cdt for years and keeps getting better. Chrome is by far the best browser in every sense that really matters.
Only point I agree with is the fact that we are going to be in a mono browser world (albiet, being open source is good), and they no longer "don't be evil", quite the opposite. Whatever is good for them comes first, unfortunately. FF is just so damn slow, Dev tools especially. And setting up a Charles proxy?... Ugh

Collapse
 
theevil profile image
wilson salgado quiceno

To do unit tests, native integration with different debug tools is better, better integration with the dom

Collapse
 
hackergaucho profile image
Hacker Gaucho • Edited

about:welcome @ben 😊 the next battle has been already written in about:mozilla

The Beast adopted new raiment and studied the ways of Time and Space and Light and the Flow of energy through the Universe. From its studies, the Beast fashioned new structures from oxidised metal and proclaimed their glories. And the Beast's followers rejoiced, finding renewed purpose in these teachings.

Collapse
 
jsalinas11 profile image
Jordan

Haven't seen this before. How metal of them. 🤘

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

When I got a new machine last year I spent about 6 months with Firefox, but something always felt "off" with it and I eventually ended up installing Edge 2.0 instead.

I still use Firefox as my mobile browser from when I was experimenting 🤷‍♂️ Not really sure why.

It'd be interesting to get an update on your thoughts after a few weeks/months of using FF 👀

Collapse
 
pp profile image
Paweł Ludwiczak

Oh wow, now I may switch to Firefox too.

Collapse
 
anrodriguez profile image
An Rodriguez • Edited

Firefox is amazing. Very fast, stable, great add-ons. I personally can't live without Tree Style Tabs.
Oh yeah, and also as @citizen428 says:

Don't forget mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/developer/

 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

I can't recall exactly what it was, I think it was mostly because of the interface, although this was also the case with plain Firefox... I guess I will need to give it another go! It feels like a lot has improved since 2/3 years ago :P

Devltools were nice though!

Thread Thread
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

I just tested it a bit, it has definitely changed a lot since I last used it!

Collapse
 
anrodriguez profile image
An Rodriguez • Edited

Oh yeah, same browser multiple different sessions. Very handy.
This plays nicely with other of my favorites, must-have, extensions: Switch Container

Collapse
 
hellonehha profile image
Neha Sharma

I moved to Mozilla 3 months ago and today only I was thinking to write about it.

Reason which made me to move to Mozilla was security only.

As developer now I m enjoying mozilla experience especially debugging experience.

Collapse
 
roelofjanelsinga profile image
Roelof Jan Elsinga

I've been using Linux exclusively and since Firefox is installed on most distros by default, I don't even need to go out of my way to get a new browser. Unlike Windows, you already have an amazing browser when you're first booting.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Which distro do you use?

Collapse
 
roelofjanelsinga profile image
Roelof Jan Elsinga • Edited

Ubuntu, Manjaro, and peppermint os

 
webdevinci profile image
webdevinci

I tried... Poked around on a fresh FF build, no plugins installed, and everything within dev tools is extremely sluggish compared to Chrome/Chromium. Perhaps my macbook pro just like chrome better(?) There are some pretty views they added, animations make it feel even slower than it already is, and I don't see any feature that chrome doesn't have, just a few less features. Not having ability to perform local overrides is a big deal breaker; once you use them once, you can't go back to not using them [as a web dev]. Mostly it just lags the entire time, and when trying to take a memory snap the tab crashed. I could definitely see everyday (non-web-dev) using it, though. Less capabilities, but without dev tools it seems to perform decently. And like an OS, once you learn you're way around you will be more acclimated to use it.

 
elasticrash profile image
Stefanos Kouroupis

I hate conspiracy theories, as far as chromium is open source. It's fine. not near a mono-browser scenario, just a more (but not necessarily) consistent user experience on the web. Both for users and devs alike.

Collapse
 
binyamin profile image
Binyamin Green

For me, the flexbox/grid tool is enough 😀

Collapse
 
ajeet profile image
Ajeet Yadav

What about Brave