DEV Community

Cover image for Rubyist Hangout Thread
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Rubyist Hangout Thread

Hey folks, this is a weekly hangout thread.

This is an area for Rubyists to discuss Ruby, but since Ruby is 28 years old, and things don't change so quickly, this is also just a hangout thread for Rubyists to share whatever you feel like within our community guidelines.

So what's up this week?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
jd2r profile image
DR • Edited

For any Rubyists - I'm looking to learn more about the language and maybe start coding some stuff. I've been reading the Poignant Guide recently, but I was wondering if you guys knew of any other good resources that would be useful for learning. Should I just go through a traditional course or is there another way you'd recommend? And is Ruby on Rails worth learning at all?

Collapse
 
lewiscowles1986 profile image
Lewis Cowles • Edited

I Read about making Ruby outperform some C code in this article. Don't get over excited, it's more about not having to abandon Ruby for C as a first-step:

railsatscale.com/2023-08-29-ruby-o...

PS: I have no idea if this is how this thread thing works, but it sent me a notification about this post.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yup, that's how it works

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

I'm here, now what? LOL

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen • Edited

That time again... already?
Alright.

:ΓΎ