DEV Community

Cover image for Rubyist Hangout Thread
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Rubyist Hangout Thread

Hey folks, this is a new weekly hangout thread.

This is an area for Rubyists to discuss Ruby, but since Ruby is 28 years old, and things don't change so quickly, this is also just a hangout thread for Rubyists to share whatever you feel like within our community guidelines.

So what's up this week?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'm going to be giving a keynote at Ruby Conf Thailand this coming October, looking forward to my first conference I'll be at since pre-Covid.

Collapse
 
nezirzahirovic profile image
Nezir Zahirovic

Let me share my ruby on rails quiz site, there are questions, games, levels, scores, certs, knowledge battle and so... 200+ members, 400+ plays...
quiz.rubyonrails.ba/

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Cool Nezir, feel free to stop by future weekly threads to continue promoting this. :)

Collapse
 
juneira profile image
Marcelo Junior

In this week a publish my first article in English 🎉

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!

Collapse
 
juneira profile image
Marcelo Junior

Thank's!!

Collapse
 
storrence88 profile image
Steven Torrence

I've never been to a Ruby conf or Rails conf before. Are there any suggestions for upcoming ones? Doesn't matter if it's domestic or international!

Would love to hear your thoughts about tech conferences in general (i.e. how to make the most of them, how do you approach letting your manager know, things like that)

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes • Edited

Where can I learn ruby? I know there's Launch School. I want to know where I can learn from the seniors. I want to learn it for sonic pi.

Collapse
 
roberthopman profile image
Robert

Did you ask chatgpt-4.. or check out: github.com/fpsvogel/learn-ruby