DEV Community

Cover image for Rubyist Hangout Thread
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Rubyist Hangout Thread

Hey folks, this is a weekly hangout thread.

This is an area for Rubyists to discuss Ruby, but since Ruby is 28 years old, and things don't change so quickly, this is also just a hangout thread for Rubyists to share whatever you feel like within our community guidelines.

So what's up this week?

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
leewynne profile image
Lee Wynne

I met this guy once handing around outside an old theatre, not sure who it was though...

Ilee and matz

Collapse
 
lucianghinda profile image
Lucian Ghinda

This week I will work on switching between linking authors to their Twitter profiles to linking authors to their personal websites or Github profiles when available for Short Ruby News.

I plan to implement Avo as an Admin and then try to change as quick as possible as many authors as possible :) Let's see how this will work

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Let us know how the Avo integration goes

Collapse
 
lucianghinda profile image
Lucian Ghinda

Planning to write 1-2 articles about this :)

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦

I still use Ruby, but I'm old

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Same I guess 😅

Collapse
 
braindeaf profile image
RobL

Old, wise, and hopefully rocking the grey day by day.

Collapse
 
skryking profile image
Jason Ormes

I still use it and I'm old. Though I'm not quite sure age is the reason.

Collapse
 
pinotattari profile image
Riccardo Bernardini

28 years old?!? It seems just yesterday that I learned Ruby with an online tutorial...

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yeah seriously

Collapse
 
tanmer001 profile image
tanmer

I'm a ooooold rubyist, in China.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

🥳