DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Thank you DEV Community!

I'm feeling very grateful for the warmth, helpfulness and kindness displayed every day by the community.

It's a lot of fun coming to work every day. ❤️

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
swarupkm profile image
Swarup Kumar Mahapatra • Edited

I must say, i was able to detach from Facebook due to dev.to.
It has improved a lot over the years. The UI is so intuitive.
The people are friendly.
I like the non tech posts the most.
I strongly recommend DEV to people who are new to programming and let them feel 'they are not alone'.
Cheers to the founders.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That’s so great to hear!

Collapse
 
gaberomualdo profile image
Gabe Romualdo • Edited

Thank you so much for starting and maintaining the site that brings us all together; it's a true honor to be a part of the DEV Community, and it would never have been possible without the site itself.

Thank you Ben, Jess, and Peter, and all the other contributors to DEV, and of course the awesome developers in this community itself!

— Gabriel

Collapse
 
thojest profile image
thojest

Thanks for this awesome work. I just wrote my first article and already like this community so much :)

Collapse
 
axelledrouge profile image
AxelleDRouge • Edited

Thanks to you for creating and maintaining this awesome community <3 I may not have written a post (yet) I'm a bit shy about myself, being a french woman, where the idea about just writting in anyway about yourself is not really supported. But I will ! This community inspires me so much

Collapse
 
dillionmegida profile image
Dillion Megida

Would be waiting to read your posts : )

Collapse
 
axelledrouge profile image
AxelleDRouge
Thread Thread
 
dillionmegida profile image
Dillion Megida

They are nice 💛

Thread Thread
 
axelledrouge profile image
AxelleDRouge

Thanks

Collapse
 
destro_mas profile image
Shahjada Talukdar
Collapse
 
xfischer profile image
Xavier Fischer • Edited

Hi Ben, I was really impressed by the look and feel of DEV.to.
I like the way that people share their thoughts, their process, their discoveries.
But one thing I don't like is that among really good content hides marketing posts like this one : dev.to/azure/how-you-can-learn-to-...

They should be clearly marked as advertising, sponsorized, or whatever suits to clearly mark that they are produced by companies seeking customers rather than developers sharing.

This is a concern as those posts lead to polished "LinkedIn-like" responses "This is great", "Thanks for sharing", ...
The really subject is a product, or a platform, and following the given instructions will lead to a personal expense at the beneficial of the author's company, not mentionned in any way.

Where is going DEV.to relating to those sponsorships ?

Collapse
 
triptych profile image
Andrew Wooldridge

Thanks for giving folks a platform that is free, open, and welcoming. My hope is that this community stays "gate free" and that it continues to build bridges to other platforms and communities.

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

Thank you giving us this platform! DEV has helped a lot of my projects to get famous❤️❤️🌻🌻🌻

Collapse
 
knowaloud profile image
Godswill William

There are Development communities out there but dev.to is more than a community for Developers, it's a family. We all come here, share our ideas and learn from other people's expertise to improve on ourselves. I wouldn't ask for more. Dev.to is the right place for me.

Collapse
 
shofol profile image
Anower Jahan Shofol

I really like this community.

Before dev.to, no online platform really made me feel that I am a member of it. But the dev community and this platform is so caring and easy. Gives me a feel that I am not alone!

Humor and knowledge has a good mixup here till now. Hope it will last and go a long way.

Go, Dev, Go.

Collapse
 
setevoy profile image
Arseny Zinchenko

For me, the most valuable here was the people, the community itself.
Thank you, people! You are great :-)
And thanks to all developers and maintainers of the Dev.to for such a great resource.

Collapse
 
ryansmith profile image
Ryan Smith

Thank you to the DEV team and the community for helping create this place. 🎉

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob • Edited

You have a great job, and you're doing a great job!

Collapse
 
meatboy profile image
Meat Boy

<3

Collapse
 
adamwakif profile image
Adam WaƘiƑ

We all love you ❤️