DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What's the most excited you've ever been about a new technology?

Top comments (62)

Collapse
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

Funny how this post got in right when I published my TenserFlow.js post. I've been so excited about having ability to play with machine learning algorithms right into browser that one day my daughter had to remind me she had heard it 4 times from me so far ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Classic ๐Ÿ˜„

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

Yaser, so itโ€™s okay and normal that I talk to my newborn baby about TypeScript features while Iโ€™m rocking her to sleep?

Thread Thread
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

Completely, you could even make a song out of it ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thread Thread
 
lexlohr profile image
Alex Lohr

Sleep, little one,
type systems can be fun!
You'll catch the bugs in time you write
the code so you can sleep at night,
sleep, little one.

Collapse
 
sunnysingh profile image
Sunny Singh

This may sound lame, but server-side rendering. I initially didn't jump on the SPA (Single Page App) hype train because it felt wrong to hide content behind JavaScript, making SEO difficult. When I learned that React could actually spit out HTML on the server first, I got super excited to learn it. I'm super excited at how easy it is today too with Gatsby and Next.js.

I wrote about SSR on here actually.

Collapse
 
damnjan profile image
Damnjan Jovanovic • Edited

When SSD become available

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Oh yeah, that's a good one. I remember where I was when I first found out about SSDs ๐Ÿ˜„

Collapse
 
damnjan profile image
Damnjan Jovanovic

Thats pretty much uncover how old we are :D

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

SSD had already existed for a long time before I discovered them, but when it clicked for me in that moment I knew it was going to have a big impact on my computing. I also immediately wondered why it wasn't already shipped as the default drive.

These days it seems like it is the default for most devices.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I recall being incredibly excited about React Native. Not just React Native itself, but it felt like the nudge to really see what this React thing was all about in general.

When React first came around, Angular was already a thing, so was KnockoutJS and several other frameworks.

But I didn't think any of them were fleshed out very well. To me, jQuery was still the best way to get things done with JavaScript at the time. React really changed things. Everything that's come since has been heavily influenced by great ideas introduced by React.

(Not that you need a big JS library for every project, vanilla is often the best choice ๐Ÿ˜„)

Collapse
 
saulsilver profile image
Hatem Houssein

The For-loop in my first month of programming. ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Collapse
 
nickjj profile image
Nick Janetakis • Edited
  • Within the last ~6 months? LiveView with Phoenix for being able make a web app feel like it's a single page app without having to write any Javascript. Diffs of your server rendered templates get pushed over a websocket channel when things change but the initial render happens without Javascript, so you get SEO perks with no extra work.

  • Within the last ~5 years? Docker to be able to set up a web app and all of its dependencies on any major OS without having to mess around with version managers and service specific installation steps.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Phoenix LiveView is super interesting (though the idea behind is not new, it's a lot less expensive now) and I think it can't be easily replicated within languages that don't have "fearless concurrency" like Elixir :)

Collapse
 
nickjj profile image
Nick Janetakis • Edited

Yeah, I used Turbolinks for a long time in Rails. It's not quite the same, but LiveView seems like the next natural stage of progression towards creating responsive web apps.

Although in the project I'm working on now, I'm using both Turbolinks and plan to use LiveView together. Turbolinks still has its place for ensuring the head of your page doesn't get resent for each page view, and LiveView steps in for manipulating pieces of the DOM without changing the page (although push state is coming in a future LiveView release which makes things quite interesting).

Thread Thread
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Thanks for the details! I'm glad there's no single way to create a web app. Going all in with a SPA is not the only option to have a fast website :D

Collapse
 
gypsydave5 profile image
David Wickes • Edited

Hmmm.

I've never been excited about new technology. I've been very excited about 'old' technology though.

  • REST architecture
  • Common Lisp
  • Unix design philosophy
  • FIFO files
  • C
  • dc

I distrust new technology - usually old ideas reimplemented badly. The craving for the new is particularly awful in the JavaScript space. At least with old tech you know it's going to work.

Collapse
 
williamlawrence profile image
Will Lawrence

.NET Core! My original training was in C#, and I love the >.NET ecosystem. However, a huge down side was this it was Windows only.

Now with Core, its cross platform. Visual Studio even runs on Mac now.

Collapse
 
iamshadmirza profile image
Shad Mirza

Earlier it was React Hooks, thanks to hooks that the amount of simplicity is amazing now.
I'm also excited about TurboModules in react-native. It is going to change how react-native works forever. Imagine hybrid native app without the need of going through the bridge. It's going to be epic.

Collapse
 
dhandspikerwade profile image
Devin Handspiker-Wade

Docker. Just getting into it this year but so far it's GREAT.

  • Need to test a script? Start a container
  • Want to use a python script without filling your computer with needed libraries? Run it in a container.
  • Want a CD/CI to have the needed tools without installing them each time or just hoping? Create a standard image.
Collapse
 
alistairjevans profile image
Alistair Evans

When I first had a play with Electron, giving me the ability to built full desktop applications in React or any other JS front-end I want. I went on a stream of twitter gushing about it.

No more writing Windows apps in WPF, consistent and easy styling across desktop and web, reusable front-end code between platforms, and I could go on.

Collapse
 
jel111 profile image
dumdumdev

When I recently saw Flutter. I like it much more than any other similar framework. I know itโ€™s Google and theyโ€™ll prolly can it next month but it is so cool. Using a Mac I can either use VSCode or Android Studio. I actually like Android Studio a lot and prefer that over VSCode. The emulators work great. The only issue I have is that it nests so much it gets hard to read. That is probably just me though.

Collapse
 
juliathepm profile image
Julia Flash

This has to be Hashcat. Getting it installed properly, setting it up, reading about it, making my script, running valid script, and actually cracking a hash. I think I was so excited that I ran away from my computer and was jumping and did not go back to finish CTF from being so overjoyed by running Hashcat. I think it took me a while to actually return to that machine - days. I was just powerfully in happiness and did not want it to end. And also a bit intimidated by how much happiness it gave to execute this at all. Then I bought a slew of books on Amazon around cracking and nmap and netcat. :)

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha • Edited

Well you can probably tell how excited I am about Dependabot by the expletive in my title for this recent article: dev.to/cubiclebuddha/omfg-dependab...

Also, when I first found TypeScript I was so incredibly happy that I could have all of the dynamic object building nature of JS and still get solidly good IntelliSense. Iโ€™ve become a bit obsessive about TypeScript since then haha.

Collapse
 
sm0ke profile image
Sm0ke

GatsbyJS,
.. they succeed in implementing that PRPL pattern as an artist.
GraphQL seems to be a show stopper at first look, but really useful after learning the basics.

Collapse
 
dylanesque profile image
Michael Caveney

It's amazing how much boilerplate work Gatsby abstracts away, how many tools it offers, and the sheer love and effort the community puts in.

Collapse
 
sm0ke profile image
Sm0ke

Gridsome also, looks promising. It's the Vue.js cousin of GatsbyJS.