DEV Community

Hercules Lemke Merscher
Hercules Lemke Merscher

Posted on • Originally published at bitmaybewise.substack.com

ABEND dump #2

Hi there, welcome to the ABEND dump! The issue where I share the most interesting content I’ve been reading, listening to, and watching lately.

Want to check the previous issue? Read it here: ABEND dump #1

Layoffs, layoffs everywhere

Buzz Lightyear and Woody, everywhere meme

A hot topic his year has been the tech layoffs, that’s for sure. Gergely Orosz has been doing an amazing job in his newsletter, The Pragmatic Engineer, covering the latest news about the current state of the industry, and also his thoughtful insights.

I’m an avid reader for the past year now. It has so much good content there, not just about the layoffs.

Your Career Growth Doesn't Just Depend On Your Competency

Despite the Developer Tea being one of my favorite podcasts, I want to draw attention to this episode specifically (that I listened to a few weeks ago) because we, software engineers, sometimes idealize the technical work and think it will speak by itself and we are going to be recognized by the good technical work we do, but in reality, technical prowess hardly takes us too far. Jonathan Cutrell digresses about it in this episode.

Curiously enough, the same week I listened to the Developer Tea episode, Elemar Jr released on his YouTube channel a video (in Portuguese), with the title (translated): “Your reputation, more than your competencies, determines your results“.

Apple’s M1 Ultra & Non-Uniform Memory Access

Apple’s new M1 processor is a tremendous success in terms of performance and efficiency. Heck, I can work all day programming with my laptop without charging it, THAT’S WONDERFUL!

Computerphile once more proves why I’m a happy subscriber of the channel on YouTube. In this video, Dr. Steve Bagley distills how Apple’s new processor architecture works in a very captivating way:

I Built a Ruby Compiler

Tim Morgan is writing an ahead-of-time compiler for Ruby, and that’s fantastic!

Since I tried Sorbet, a Ruby type-checker, the idea of building an ahead-of-time compiler for Ruby is a cool side project that has been in my mind for some time now. To my surprise, during Hacktoberfest, I got to know Natalie, this AOT compiler written in C++ by Tim Morgan.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have time at all during Hacktoberfest to work on side projects, otherwise, I would start learning C++ just to contribute to this project. I’m keeping it in my backlog. :D

git-config conditional includes

The conditional includes configuration is quite handy if you need to use multiple accounts and/or ssh keys on the same machine. Using it along with 1password ssh capabilities works like a charm.

A Tale of Query Optimization

Manish Gill, a former colleague of mine, wrote this great article a while ago telling his tale when optimizing a database query. Many insights and tips here.

Making a change to SQLite source code

Have you ever wondered how would be to make a change to SQLite’s source code? Wonder no more! Bruno Calza did that and documented his experience.


If you liked this post, consider subscribing to my newsletter Bit Maybe Wise.

You can also follow me on Twitter or Mastodon.

Top comments (0)