DEV Community

Cover image for Spotify Wrapped '19 is out and I probably listened to more music than everyone
Matt Harris
Matt Harris

Posted on

Spotify Wrapped '19 is out and I probably listened to more music than everyone

If I'm working, I'm coding and I'm probably listening to music and I wrote a lot of code this year.

208,562 minutes worth to be exact.

I probably listened to more than anyone that will read this article (if you beat me then shoot me a message and we can trade playlists).

The Breakdown

Spotify Wrapped Listening Minutes

208,562 min = 3,476 hours = 145 days = 0.4 years

I listened to music for 40% of the entire year in 2019.

About half of those minutes translated to

The rest is out there in the wild for you to find on your own.

Linking my commit history with the Spotify listening data sounds like a cool project (just in case you're listening #jobs@github)

Music Genres

Hip hop is my top genre but I still got the funk

Spotify 2019 Countries

I listened to music from 88 Countries, discovered 2,317 new artists, and played 13,228 unique tracks.

I listened to music from 88 Countries

2019 Top 100 Tracks Playlist

Matt Harris 2019 Top 100 Playlist Link

Spotify Music Rollup

Spotify 2019 Wrapped

Top Artists

  1. Infected Mushroom (When you gotta keep your energy up)
  2. A Tribe Called Quest
  3. Tee Grizzley
  4. Terrafractyl
  5. KRS-One

Top Tracks

  1. Shadowboxin' - GZA, Method Man
  2. When I B On Tha Mic - Rakim
  3. Tonight's Da Night - Redman
  4. Shimmy Shimmy Ya - Ol' Dirty Bastard
  5. Twinz (Deep Cover 98) - Big Pun, Fat Joe

2019 was a big Wu-Tang year, that probably has something to do with their new show coming out earlier this year.

Wu Tang Clan 4 Ever

#wutang4ever 👐👐👐

2010-2020 A Decade of Music

I signed up for Spotify in 2011 so there is almost a full decade's worth of data collected about my music listening habits 😲😲😲

2010-2020 A Decade of Music<br>

Spotify 2011-2019 Decade Wrapped

I listen to a few podcasts too #garyvee

(Thanks to Gary if this goes viral for pushing me to make more content every single day)

Spotify 2019 Podcasts

see the video on youtube

To see all your Spotify data all year round in a simple text list format check out the
ManageMyMusic app at http://107.170.81.187:8080/public/top

Visit https://www.spotify.com/us/wrapped and post your top artist or share your Top 100 playlist in the comments

@charrismatic

Top comments (0)