DEV Community

chenge
chenge

Posted on

Dev.to Need a Recommendation System like Youtube

I was watching the video yesterday and thought of this idea.

Lets compare:

Youtube know users. It will recommend videos for users.

What Devto give me now? It always give me new posts.

New Age for Recommendation

Now recommendation is everywhere. Search age is passing. Now is recommendation time.

In China there is a site toutiao.com(Today news you care using AI based recommendation) is becoming popular.

Any idea?

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Nope I think the current recommendation is fine. YouTube are able to provide recommendations is because they gather personal data. I do not want to look at unrelated articles besides the topics I subscribe.

Collapse
 
chenge profile image
chenge

Don't you like to read high quality posts by recommendation?

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I agree with Max, while also thinking we can get a lot better at recommendations based on context and basic data we share (what tags you follow). Our current system is fairly naive. We don't want to start gathering personal data (which I don't think we need to provide the right experience), but there is definitely room for improvement.

So...

Thread Thread
 
chenge profile image
chenge

Thanks Ben, just a gentle idea from the experience from using Youtube.

I know that is not easy to do. But it's really worth to care.

Thread Thread
 
goyo profile image
Grzegorz Ziemonski

Based on my limited knowledge of the topic, I’d say that the most important requirement for proper recommendations is not personal but behqvioural data: who reads what, who reacts to what etc.

Thread Thread
 
chenge profile image
chenge

You focus on social action. I focus on content quality.

Thread Thread
 
drbearhands profile image
DrBearhands

A dataset relating text to chance of enjoyment already exists in the form of likes. No apparent need to gather any extra data.

Collapse
 
belinde profile image
Franco Traversaro

Please NO. Recommendations make you live inside a bubble of your own already known interests, and I'm using dev.to for the very opposite reason: I follow the global RSS feed an I pass through EVERY post EVERY day; if the argument appeals me I read, otherwise I swipe in a few seconds.

I don't want something that feeds me with what it thinks it's ok for me. I'm not an infant and I don't need breastfeeding.

Collapse
 
chenge profile image
chenge

Why not have more choice? You can ignore it if you dislike it.

Collapse
 
belinde profile image
Franco Traversaro

Space on screen is finite. The more related content you show, the less proper content you have.

Thread Thread
 
goyo profile image
Grzegorz Ziemonski

I think the finite space argument could actually go in favor of having a recommendation system in the end. Imagine that in 5 years dev.to is so big that it's impossible for anyone to go through "EVERY post EVERY day", unless they dedicate the entire day to it. In such a case, finding the posts that you actually care about (or simply would like to read) would be really difficult and people could start turning away from the platform. Unless it found a way to show reasonable amounts of interesting content...

Thread Thread
 
avalander profile image
Avalander • Edited

Still, there's a difference between the user choosing which content they want to be fed (in terms of following tags and defining weights for them, currently) and the system choosing which content to feed to the user (like extrapolating from previous reads and other users with similar behaviours).

I'm fine with things like a list of similar/recommended articles at the bottom of an article, but I wouldn't want the content in my front page to be even more selected by bots.

Thread Thread
 
drbearhands profile image
DrBearhands

This is a trivial example of the well-known problem of balancing exploration with exploitation, and has an equally trivial solution: just add some random stuff to the recommendations.

Collapse
 
sauloco profile image
Saulo Vargas • Edited

Where is the global RSS feed?

Collapse
 
belinde profile image
Franco Traversaro
Collapse
 
ryan profile image
Ryan

It definitely does not need a recommendation system like Youtube, I don't want to be suggested the same five articles as everyone else that I have seen multiple times already πŸ™ƒ

I think the current suggestion system is good enough. Making a suggestion algorithm that works well for everyone is a task that multiple organizations are collectively firing billions of dollars at. I don't expect dev.to to be able to nail it.

Collapse
 
vinceramces profile image
Vince Ramces Oliveros

Agree. and the one thing I hate is the click-bait title that I've already read it in the past.

I like the current timeline today. and finding another click-bait popular posts eases me to read more in this community.

Collapse
 
maxwell_dev profile image
Max Antonucci

If there is a recommendation system similar to this based on our tastes, we could pair it with a "tastebreaker" recommendation system. This would basically look for posts you wouldn't ordinarily read due to your tastes as a way to expose you to new writing and ideas.

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks

I would also recommend against this, partly because I don't think Dev.to is at a size yet where more personalized recommendations would make much of a difference. This community is still small enough that I will frequently visit all latest articles and not feel overwhelmed, and from there get to know other community members I want to engage with.

In addition, @ben and his team do a great job of publicly praising great contributions and new users, in addition to highlighting popular tags and new discussions in the feed sidebar, which really helps ensure no one is lost in the crowd and helps me follow new, great members.

I think a YouTube-style recommendation system might be effective several years down the road as Dev.to grows in size, but I just don't think it's needed yet.