DEV Community

Cover image for Can You Begin a Coding Career at 50?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Can You Begin a Coding Career at 50?

Can you begin a successful software development career at the age of 50? Share your thoughts and experiences.


Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I hope so, cause that's me, giving it a shot!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Heck yeah!

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Yes. My oldest student was over 50 and he got into the industry. He did have a lot of general business experience to share as well which helped.

Collapse
 
vle003 profile image
vle003

I am 47 and seriously thinking about start to learn and do coding for profit and fun. the minimum value of it is it might help you prevent Alzheimer / Parkinson disease...hope so ๐Ÿ˜œ

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I don't see why not

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

Nothing is ever too late in life. This is the age where 90 year olds are getting married again.

Collapse
 
randellbrianknight profile image
Randell Brian Knight

I sure do hope so! ๐Ÿคž๐Ÿผ I'm 61 and still learning so I can make a career change.

Collapse
 
firststeptechnology profile image
Makita Tunsill

I'm a #Psyche major and I'm here to say that you can do anything that you can put your mind to. The brain has some amazing powers, just like computers :) Get started and get your feet wet.

Collapse
 
deolawage profile image
Deolawage

Yeah, it is possible

Collapse
 
deolawage profile image
Deolawage

Hi