DEV Community

Cover image for Does imposter syndrome ever get better?: CodeNewbie Podcast
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on • Updated on

Does imposter syndrome ever get better?: CodeNewbie Podcast

Marley Anthony, Software Engineer at Bench Accounting, came on the podcast yesterday to discuss the importance of maintaining a strong coding foundation, navigating performance improvement plans, and quelling imposter syndrome. We really couldn't have chosen a better way to start Season 25!

On the podcast, Marley shared that "Imposter syndrome [is always] going to be there. It’s just understanding how to deal with it better and understanding that it’s going to be part of your experience... nobody knows everything."

Needless to say, imposter syndrome is a super common difficulty when navigating any career, let alone in tech. Since everyone's approaches are super different in responding to imposter syndrome, we would love to know your thoughts!

  • What are your biggest tips for handling imposter syndrome?

  • Does imposter syndrome ever get better?

  • How can we stop giving imposter syndrome all the power?


ICYMI— find that episode below or wherever you get your podcasts:


Send us your thoughts below and don't forget to give it a listen here or wherever you listen to your podcasts! 💜

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Gosh, sometimes the imposter syndrome is so real. My main questions I ask myself when I am feeling like some hard imposter syndrome:

  1. Is this a thought that is coming from somewhere actual that I need to investigate or is this coming from insecurity, and maybe is worth trying to let go?

  2. How can I respond and not react to this? Do I need to take a break?

  3. How can I ask others for help if I feel that I am actually not doing as best as I could be?

  4. Am I holding myself or others to too high of a standard? Am I putting others around me on a pedestal? Am I being too critical of myself?

After asking questions, then I normally respond internally + externally, but insecurity/imposter syndrome always comes up, I try to handle it as gracefully as is possible!