DEV Community

corrina
corrina

Posted on

How do you deal with eye strain?

What are some tips to deal with eye strain when you are looking at a screen for 8+ hours a day?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
zxcodes profile image
Mohammed Farmaan. • Edited

I don't deal with my screen for 8+ hours a day but I do for more than 3+ hours. So personally, this solution helped me: Keep the brightness low and avoid looking at the screen in a dark room. Try to keep your room lights turned on. And keep taking small breaks and look at bright places such as your Windows. It really helps.

Collapse
 
gabrieljosehernandez profile image
Gabriel Hernández

I'm using blue light blocking glasses to help me out to get under control eye strain, I've using for 1 year now, and help me a lot, on internet you can find a lot of brands, you can search it as gaming glasses as well.

Collapse
 
__victorchan profile image
Victor Chan

Personally I use a program called f.lux for mac (but any program that reduces blue lighting from the screen would be fine).
Also I find that if the screen flickers (might not be too noticeable - but even a little bit), it definitely causes me eye strain.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

THANK YOU for posting this!!! Last night my eyes actually started giving out on me and a bizarre thought flashed through my brain in a split second: "Oh, these glasses must be broken" 😂 😂 😂. I stepped back in horror and realized how tired my eyes must be and how my brain must have been on auto-pilot at that point to have such a strange, robotic thought. Clearly, it was time to log off.

+1 to flux. I also highly recommend stretching your eyes

Collapse
 
corrinachow profile image
corrina

Thank you for the tips!! I often think that it's because my glasses are dirty but it's actually my eyes that are extremely tired 😩