DEV Community

Cover image for A continuously growing set of unique SVG icons. šŸ’ā€ā™€ļø Brutalist design, vanilla CSS, 200ms page loads.
Jake Counsell
Jake Counsell

Posted on

A continuously growing set of unique SVG icons. šŸ’ā€ā™€ļø Brutalist design, vanilla CSS, 200ms page loads.

Checkout this landing page I recently launched for an SVG icon library Iā€™m giving away for free. The landing page loads in under 200ms, uses IBM Plex Mono, brutalist design, and It uses pure vanilla CSS with no JS used for the SVG editing. The download buttons aren't live yet because I'm still finishing up the icon package but I wanted to get some feedback from the community.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on both the Icons and the landing page.

https://svgden.com/ šŸ‘ˆšŸ‘ˆšŸ‘ˆšŸ‘ˆšŸ‘ˆšŸ‘ˆšŸ‘ˆšŸ‘ˆ

I'll be adding and refining the library continuously in the coming months. I also plan on adding some more traditional sets for Business / Data / General UX needs.

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
dennisfrijlink profile image
Dennis Frijlink

First of all my compliments for the design of the website. I love the icons. You also have a Git-repo?

Collapse
 
counselljake profile image
Jake Counsell • Edited

I greatly appreciate the kind words! I'm in the process of putting all of these icons in 2 different sizes in extremely minified SVG format on Github, I'll also put an AI and EPS file with all of them on there as well. Lagging a little because of other projects, interviews, and Christmas stuff.

Collapse
 
dennisfrijlink profile image
Dennis Frijlink

Nice! I'll will follow the updates on the site/dev.io

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

+1 This is what frontend development is all about.

Collapse
 
garrettmills profile image
Garrett Mills

I like the design! Plus, it seems lighter to load than something like font awesome.

One gripe though, the site is broken on Firefox. ;)

Collapse
 
counselljake profile image
Jake Counsell

I'm looking into it now!

Collapse
 
counselljake profile image
Jake Counsell

OOO really? What are you seeing on Firefox? I've been testing in FF on mobile and desktop. Let me look now, I may have broken something haha.

Collapse
 
garrettmills profile image
Garrett Mills • Edited

The main display area is very short, and it appears the left side isn't displaying properly. I've attached a screenshot.

I tried disabling my ad-blocker, but no difference. I'm on Firefox 83.0 on Ubuntu, if that helps.

dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/...

Thread Thread
 
counselljake profile image
Jake Counsell • Edited

Yeah, I'm seeing this, if you keep refreshing, the site actually displays perfectly for a brief second then breaks? What in the hell could be doing this? Any ideas? Works perfectly in every other browser including FF mobile.

Thread Thread
 
garrettmills profile image
Garrett Mills • Edited

I'm not sure, but it seems to be an issue with the left column's container not inferring the height correctly.

If I manually set a height of 400px on the div.lft_col, I can get the site to display.

EDIT: try setting height: 100vh on both the lft_col and rgt_col. This seemed to resolve it for me.

Thread Thread
 
counselljake profile image
Jake Counsell

Awesome, I think I have it fully resolved on FF desktop now. Thanks for the help! Can these vendors please just unify their browsers already haha.

Sadly my cool but hacky dark mode doesn't work on FF desktop... But everything should be working perfectly on FF, Saf, and chrome in mobile and on desktop now. I've even tested it in all of the hideous in-app browsers.

Collapse
 
jimmont profile image
Jim Montgomery • Edited

Jake what are the license terms? If you intend to make this free and want help with contributions I suggest moving the project to Github and using their .github.io hosting as it's performant, free and you can still solicit donations there to sponsor further work. If you need more help with this just message me directly.

Collapse
 
counselljake profile image
Jake Counsell

Also feel free to roast the design if you think it's booty, I can take it!

Collapse
 
giorgosk profile image
Giorgos Kontopoulos šŸ‘€ • Edited

It's a great collection of icons keep it up

Collapse
 
counselljake profile image
Jake Counsell

Hey thanks! It'll keep growing so please keep checking back.