DEV Community

CraftyMiner1971
CraftyMiner1971

Posted on

IDEs

I'd like to know what you professionals use to do your coding. I've tried many code editors over the years since I started learning to code. I've narrowed it down to one, VSCode.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Vim 99% of the time, VSCode 1% of the time. Except for Arduino stuff, then the Arduino IDE thing.

Collapse
 
craftyminer1971 profile image
CraftyMiner1971

I've also used Eclipse for Java. I once used Stanford's Karel program using Eclipse when that was still good. I quite enjoyed that, but other than that, I haven't used it for anything else. I absolutely love VSC for all my coding activities ATM.

Collapse
 
eshimischi profile image
eshimischi • Edited

VSCode and for my business projects - PhpStorm (specific plugin)

Collapse
 
craftyminer1971 profile image
CraftyMiner1971

I love how moldable VSC is! It's my fave IDE right now!

Collapse
 
raibtoffoletto profile image
Raí B. Toffoletto

Well.. it's all about taste, and how an editor/ide fits into your workflow. I personally like more text editors than IDEs, so I stick to mainly VSCode and VIm. I do like vscodes clean interface, it has the necessary amount of info for me. But I'm one of those who has an heart attack everytime I open VisualStudio or Android Studio IDEs for example.

Collapse
 
craftyminer1971 profile image
CraftyMiner1971

I've tried a few, as I mentioned in my opening address, like NetBeans, which was ok back then, but now it blows big chunks! Haven't tried Vim, but I like VSC so much that I'm sticking with it.

Collapse
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

Yes. Also recommend the adobe of programming : jetbrains

Collapse
 
craftyminer1971 profile image
CraftyMiner1971

Is that one of those you have to pay for to use for any given amount of time, like a trial version expires after so long?

Collapse
 
wjplatformer profile image
Wj

Well, there are community editions which do not need payment.

Collapse
 
joolsmcfly profile image
Julien Dephix

PhpStorm