DEV Community

Cover image for Dart 2 has reached stable πŸŽ‰
Jermaine
Jermaine

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at creativebracket.com

Dart 2 has reached stable πŸŽ‰

It's with great pleasure writing this short message to celebrate Dart 2 hitting the stable milestone. This means that it is ready for building production applications.

I've had a pleasant experience diving into Dart so far, due to the reasons below:

  1. I found it familiar and easy to pick up within days
  2. I was impressed with the range of useful utility methods, making it easier to work with the inbuilt types
  3. It's truly object-oriented and has a strongly typed language
  4. It promises and delivers a very productive experience
  5. It has a growing community on Reddit and StackOverflow
  6. It comes with a repository of packages
  7. It provides tooling for web applications
  8. It has proven itself in the mobile app development space

And I'll continue to expand on these via future articles!

Here's the full announcement by the Dart team.

If you ever considered taking the leap, now is the time.


Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
mattmattv profile image
Matthieu Vion

You may want to fix the link at point 7 (it has redered https://https//webdev.dartlang.org/) (:

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Great spot Matthieu. Fixed.

Collapse
 
mattmattv profile image
Matthieu Vion

πŸ‘Œ

Collapse
 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

I'm building some personal projects and I need a website and mobile apps.

If I didn't thought that PWA will replace native apps, I would definitely learn Dart because of Flutter. Or if Flutter/dart would have first citizen support for exporting the projects as a web app I would totally let go of JS/CSS ecosystem.

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Thanks for your response BG Adrian.

It's worth mentioning that Dart can be used to build PWAs. Heres their HackerNews implementation as a PWA. Dart 2.0 brought massive improvements on the tooling for client-side development. I built a memory game using these tools and here's the source. Perhaps in a future post I will cover this in detail.

I would also suggest looking into the BLoC pattern by the Dart team if you need to be able to share code between a web app and mobile.

Collapse
 
bgadrian profile image
Adrian B.G.

I saw those methods, but they are not viable from my point of view, is just a way to share some business logic and maybe models, you still need to recreate the views, double the work, you still have to fix CSS issues and browser inconsistencies, and so on. On top of it you have to learn an enterprise-level framework (angular) and flutter.

For me is just a hack. I'm waiting for the day when I can export the same project in android, iOS and web, until then, PWA is the fastest way to 3 markets, with limited development resources.

Thread Thread
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Thanks for expanding on your earlier response.

I only mentioned the BLoC pattern for sharing code between web app and a native mobile application. I understand now that it may not be relevant to your use case since the PWA utilises the mobile browser. There are other frameworks options like OverReact and wui_builder if you'd rather not use Angular.