DEV Community

Jermaine
Jermaine

Posted on

What did your first website design look like?

Hello friends. As we approach the decline of 2018, I took a trip down memory lane to my first ever website design and thought I'd share it with you all.

My first website design

Although this feels slightly embarassing 😳, I am also curious to seeing how you did on your first attempt.

Some context

This piece was done during the summer of 2006 when a couple of friends asked for my help in putting together a website as part of the Croydon Supplementary Education Project. I didn't know HTML and CSS at the time, so I used web software to put this screen together instead.

Frustrations from this experience led me to Sams Teach Yourself HTML 4 in 24 Hours. And the rest is pretty much history.

Please share your experience as well as some screenshots if any. This page might take longer to load the more images that are added but it will be worth it!😜

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks • Edited

I don't think I have a copy of mu first website around. I made it in the summer of 1998. Initially using Netscape's WYSIWYG HTML editor, but quickly thereafter writing HTML by hand. I do have a copy of what it turned out to be in 1999 before I created a completely new one. But, there's quite some Flash used for the navigation menus, so the site is actually quite broken now.

Does anybody know if there's a JS library which I could simply include on the site to make it's Flash content work (it's only Flash 4)? I know there's Shumway, but that requires some more work to restore my website.

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Woah those blues are striking!

Collapse
 
phlash profile image
Phil Ashby

Internet Archive have mine from 2003 (it was pretty much the same in '97 when I started):

web.archive.org/web/20030220130818...

Anyone care to guess what revision control system I was using then?

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Cool. I like the minimal look. And nothing says old school like the good ol' table layout :)

Collapse
 
larsklopstra profile image
Lars Klopstra ⚑

My first site was pretty good looking! But the only problem was, it not being response and the container was being centered by margin-left: 400px πŸ˜‚πŸ€«

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Screenshots?

Collapse
 
larsklopstra profile image
Lars Klopstra ⚑

All gone :(

Thread Thread
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Ahhh sorry to hear that.

Collapse
 
arrozygandules profile image
Boom da 🐐

Mines is from the MySpace days :(

web.archive.org/web/20070117143002...

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Cool, looks decent still.

Collapse
 
arrozygandules profile image
Boom da 🐐

you think so? i thought it was tooo uhhh 2007 ish lol actually loved that css.

buzznoc.com/indexx.php

is my recent theme

Collapse
 
julesmanson profile image
jules manson

My first web site was gawd awfully embarrassing. How I could have tagged my own good name to it is beyond me now. Sorry (or happily) no screen shots.

Collapse
 
isetnt2 profile image
Isak Ahlberg • Edited

Don't really remember. I think it was a table filled with random GIFs and a gigantic square moving around in the background. All was centred with the

<'center> tag
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Sadly my first site hasn't been preserved by Internet Archive.

This is the oldest known screenshot:

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine • Edited

Ahhh 😭

Luckily I happened to have scraped my site a couple of years ago as now it's not online anymore.