DEV Community

Cover image for Why do you write so much?
Chris Bongers
Chris Bongers

Posted on • Originally published at daily-dev-tips.com

Why do you write so much?

A lot of people ask me why I write so much. And I thought this would make an excellent blog post article.

My initial reasoning behind starting this blog was that I didn't have travel time anymore, and I wanted to use this time I previously spent on travel for something productive.

Hence a daily blog started.
However, at one stage, it became the perfect outlet to investigate, try out, and write about things I didn't have to try at work.

An outlet

Let's say your day-to-day job includes working on a React codebase, you've heard of Remix, but you aren't going to convert everything at once.

So what better way to try a system out than creating a side project with it?
In my case, that side project involves trying the system and working on it.
And while I'm at it, I might as well write down my learnings to help other people who also might be considering trying it out.

It helps me improve

Another reason for writing so much is that it really helps me improve. Not just in a technical sense but also a grammatical point of view, an explaining point of view, and dealing with feedback.

It's a great outlet to learn and grow from.

Let me share some fantastic experiences I had over the time that was only possible due to the blog.

  • Gain technical feedback on articles: I've written many articles from my knowledge point of view. People with other points of view come in to share their approaches to solutions which in return makes me see different ways.
  • Gain grammatical feedback: I can tell you with 100% confidence that writing this blog really improved my English typing, as this is not my native language it's an excellent outlet to become better over time.
  • Explaining topics better: Sometimes, I write articles with a perspective that people will know everything I know. It's so amazing to get feedback from people who are missing steps which helps me explain specific topics better to them.

This list could go on even more; I'd love to hear from other bloggers about their improvements in writing blogs.

It's addictive

I won't lie, doing this daily seems hectic and I really would not recommend it to everyone.
But it's super addictive to me, it's become a daily routine, and I can't see myself not doing it.

The central part for me is that it has no incentive. I don't make money from it. And I don't gain anything other than personal knowledge.
Besides that, I enjoy writing these articles and being able to learn new things in this way.

Would you recommend it?

I would highly recommend writing articles, but find things you want to write about and a schedule that works for you.
Don't overdo yourself. Keep it fun.

If you're keen to read more about how I manage my writing, this article might help you:

The secret to my writing process.

Thank you for reading, and let's connect!

Thank you for reading my blog. Feel free to subscribe to my email newsletter and connect on Facebook or Twitter

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

You do write a lot :)

The notion that you HAVE to write something every day, doesn't that occasionally feel suffocating, to put it like that, as in "I'm not really in the mood but yeah I HAVE to"?

OTOH, if you have the discipline to write on a regular basis, then well why not do it every day ... and I agree that consistency is key, once you start compromising then it's the beginning of the end. Either have a rigid schedule and stick to it, or just forget about it ;)

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Yeah more like that.
It's you have the discipline and by compromising it would probably end very quick.

The first point is something I don't often get.
There are so many cool things to write about/explore that I never really get this "not in the mood" vibe.
The opposite is often true, I have to tell myself to stop exploring at certain times and leave it for another day.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Well that's the most amazing thing about it - that apparently, you're never lost for topics to write about, you've always got something up your sleeve or in the "backlog" ...

What I also noticed - pardon me, but I think that's really part of your "secret sauce", is that you almost always keep your posts short, simple and to the point - I've tried to do blogging in the past, and I think what I did wrong is that I was writing these long elaborate pieces and was endlessly editing and perfecting them - and then I felt "this isn't worth it", it was a huge drain on my energy ... and a time sink.

So I think what you're doing right is:

  • you PROBABLY keep notes all the time of what you're doing (side projects and so on)
  • then you chop up your notes into little byte-sized chunks
  • and bada bing bada boom, in half an hour or so (?) you're able to finish a post

... and this way it doesn't become a huge time sink and a drag, and you're able to keep it up.

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Yes exactly, I even wrote this down a while a go.

daily-dev-tips.com/posts/the-secre...

Thread Thread
 
leob profile image
leob

Yes indeed, that post addresses all of the points that I raised, amazing, lol :)

Collapse
 
sahan profile image
Sahan

Great post! I encourage everybody to blog πŸ™ For me, writing solidifies what I’m learning atm. It also helps others and helps me to revisit things. You wouldn’t believe how many times I have come across my own blog when searching for things 😁 it’s a great feeling tbh.

Thanks for sharing this great piece with us.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

It's such a great way to solidify and memorize your learnings.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Just checked your website and saw that you have the same content on your blog, on DEV and perhaps on a mailing list?

Did you by any chance figured my question out?

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Hey yes it's all one content indeed.
Not quite sure I can answer it from a forem point of view though.

Collapse
 
franciscomendes10866 profile image
Francisco Mendes

I loved the article 😁. Immensely good, at some points it turned out to be a mirror, because I share some of your reasons.

I happen to like the idea of sharing knowledge with a community, because at the end of the day we end up learning from each other. And another funny aspect is that after a blog turns out to be a repository, there have been several times during work when I went to my saved articles to read again something I need to implement. πŸ˜‚

Keep up the great work, thanks for sharing the knowledge and congratulations for writing articles so regularly, it's an incredible effort. πŸ’ͺ

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Happy to read it worked like a mirror πŸ’–

Will keep it an, and throwing it back at you:
Keep up your writing πŸ™

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’» GDE

Very inspiring. Thanks for sharing your insights. I do love writing but still need some time for even one blog post even it is a small one. But thatβ€˜s fine.
And for me as well, my english has gotten way better. Big plus!

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

That's a massive plus, the english part also really works wonders on my end.

And don't feel rushed, only write when you actually have the time and energy for it.

Collapse
 
roninjosue profile image
Reynaldo JosuΓ© Cano BΓ‘rcenas

I appreciate this information, currently, I’m looking at how to start writing, and creating a blog, like you English is not my native language, so it is more difficult for me. But I don’t give up. Thank you very much.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Awesome, glad you enjoyed it.
Hope it helps on your journey πŸ™

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Nice article.

I also like this simple answer from DEV.

Collapse
 
lunaisakh profile image
Luna Isakh

I think we should write brief and to the point.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

I envy people who can write massive long-form.
As i'm a person who doesn't like to read long-form it just doesn't resonate with me.

But i'm sure there's a market for everything.

Collapse
 
lunaisakh profile image
Luna Isakh

Totally agree with you

Collapse
 
nitinreddy3 profile image
Nitin Reddy

Though I don't write regularly but yes I agree that you should be disciplined about your habit of writing that helps you in the long run. Can't agree more on this πŸ™

Collapse
 
csituma profile image
Clara Situma

I admire your consistency to writing daily

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Thanks Clara πŸ™

Collapse
 
lico profile image
SeongKuk Han

I feel the same way. It helps for my English and I can oraganize my thoughts by writing. :)) It encourages me, thank you!

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Amazing!
So happy to contribute to that feeling.

Collapse
 
jenniesworth12 profile image
Jennie Sworth

I love writing, it is the way I express my feelings. Writing make me become more steady

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

That's amazing, happy to read this