DEV Community

Victor Ike
Victor Ike

Posted on

Day 11 #100DaysofCode

Learn CSS Framework or CSS Preprocessor?

I spent a lot of time today watching videos and researching which CSS framework I wanted to learn; specifically Bootstrap or Tailwind CSS. I have used Bootstrap before and found some frustrations trying to override some of its stylings. I looked at Tailwind and was instantly turned off by its multiple class system. I also looked into maybe I should learn Sass.

Here is what I decided

This video basically convince me that I don't need to learn a CSS framework right now. I understand CSS but sometimes, the grind of creating with just vanilla CSS can be time consuming hence why I wanted to learn a framework. I decided to learn Sass to take my current vanilla CSS skills to the next level.

What is Sass?

According to their website, Sass stands for Syntactically Awesome Style Sheet. It's basically CSS with "super powers." Some of the features I think I will benefit from is:

  • Nesting
    • Being able to nest classes in each other and avoid over complication/repeating myself when I style stuff
  • Custom Variables
    • Although CSS has its own way of creating custom variables, I think the feature in Sass will keep things streamlined

I plan to learn Sass through this youtube tutorial.

Top comments (0)