DEV Community

Cover image for Am I a geek ?
Laura Durieux
Laura Durieux

Posted on

Am I a geek ?

I recently realized that, as a woman in the tech field, I harbored a reluctance to be associated with the term "geek."

My name is Laura Durieux, and I am a versatile web developer, specializing in both front-end and back-end, a web designer, a Twitch streamer, and a presenter at RTBF iXPÉ.

Two years ago, I achieved the honor of winning the gold medal in Web Technologies at WorldSkills Belgium, which led to numerous interviews where I found myself actively rejecting the label of "geek." My aim was to serve as a feminine role model in the Belgian tech industry, and I felt compelled to distance myself from the stereotypical association with being a "geek."

Geek !== feminity ?

Reflecting on this decision, I realize it may have been driven by fear. I was apprehensive about being perceived as less feminine.

Why don't you ask men ?

Jealousy might have played a role as well. When I recall instances where a businessman identifies himself as a developer/programmer on a TV show, I rarely hear the presenter ask, "So, can we call you a geek?" This might have occurred, but it doesn't seem as prevalent for women. Men seem to be more inclined to categorize us.

The image the society gives to the term "Geek"

In contemporary society, when the term "geek" is associated with a girl or a woman, it often takes on a sexualized and fantastical tone. Similar to the "Gamer girl" archetype, this aligns with the fantasies of men.

Still not convinced? Ask a generative image AI to show you a "Girl geek." You'll see.

Even ChatGPT acknowledges this reality.
ChatGPT answer

Today

Today, I no longer fear being labeled a geek. I understand that this won't hinder me from being a feminine representation in the tech field, even if it doesn't align with the stereotypical image of a "female geek." To clarify, if you want to embrace that image, it's entirely acceptable, and no one should pass judgment. The issue I want to highlight is the unwarranted categorization of women as geeks solely based on their involvement in the tech field.

And you? What do you think?

Let me know in the comments!


Hey! 👋 My name is Laura Durieux. I am a Web Developper, streamer on Twitch, presenter @ RTBF iXPE in Belgium and recently speaker.

Don't hesitate to show your support by following me on social media or tuning in to my Twitch Channel, where we code and share plenty of laughs! You can find all my links conveniently organized on my Linktree. ✨


Cover image from Ayrus Hill on Unsplash

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dimitrim profile image
Dimitri Mostrey

Thanks for speaking your mind and history. RTBF? For people who don't recognize the abbreviation, no blame. It officially stands for "Radio-télévision belge de la Communauté française", a public broadcasting service in French for Wallonia and Brussels. I'm from Belgium too, the Flemish side (Bruges). We have a Dutch counterpart, the VRT.

About the word 'geek'. Some confuse it with 'nerd'. IMHO, a nerd is more of an introvert. While a geek is orientated to the outside world. You proof it with running a show on the RTBF. Sleek 😉

From Wiki: "Technologically oriented geeks, in particular, now exert a powerful influence over the global economy and society."

Calling you a 'geek' is a complement. Geeks basically build the internet and modern telecommunication technology as we know it. Especially the 'garage' startups. Resulting in an global economic impact of 3 trillion dollars each year.

Keep going and (albeit a late) happy Woman's Day!

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Thank you for sharing your perspective, I think people always find ways to sexualize women no matter where we try to fit in. It sucks