DEV Community

Cover image for The power of Role Model
Laura Durieux
Laura Durieux

Posted on

The power of Role Model

As a woman in the tech industry, I faced challenges in finding representation and feeling included in this field. Initially, it was more of a vague feeling, and I couldn't quite grasp why I felt that way. Then, one day, I encountered my role model, and it dawned on me that I had been experiencing a sense of isolation and fear. Since then, everything has changed.

I firmly believe in the power of having a role model, particularly for those treated as minorities – and I use the term 'minorities' not to imply our absence but to highlight the unfortunate invisibility we often experience.

What is a Role Model?

Let's look at some definitions

A role model is a person whose behaviour, example, or success serves as a model to be emulated by others, especially by younger people. The term role model is credited to sociologist Robert K. Merton, who hypothesized that individuals compare themselves with reference groups of people who occupy the social role to which the individual aspires,[4] an example of which is the way young fans may idolize and imitate professional athletes or entertainment artists.

Source Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Role_model

A significant other, upon which an individual patterns his or her behaviour in a particular social role, including adopting appropriate similar attitudes. Role-models need not be known personally to the individual: some people model their behaviour in particular roles on the real and legendary example provided by historical figures. Role-models tend to provide ideals for a particular role only, rather than a pattern to be emulated across all the constituent roles of an individual's life and self.

Source Oxford Reference: https://www.oxfordreference.com/display/10.1093/oi/authority.20110803100426815

At the end of the day, I believe that everybody forms their own definition of what a role model is, with minor variations.

My Role Model

My role model is AurΓ©lie Jean, whom I had the privilege of meeting a few years ago and now have the honor of working with. She is a regular guest on my Twitch Channel once a month.

Despite her expertise in algorithms and my focus on web technologies, I deeply admire her. The experience has not only broadened my perspectives but has also inspired me to reach new heights in my ambitions.

And you?

Who is your role model? Feel free to share in the comments below and let the world know about the person you admire!


Hey! πŸ‘‹ My name is Laura Durieux. I am a Web Developper, streamer on Twitch, presenter @ RTBF iXPE in Belgium and recently speaker.

Don't hesitate to show your support by following me on social media or tuning in to my Twitch Channel, where we code and share plenty of laughs! You can find all my links conveniently organized on my Linktree. ✨


Cover image from Kevin Schmid on Unsplash

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

For me that would be Ada Lovelace, Margareth Hamilton and many female friends I have had in my career

I just wrote about it here but you would likely need google transalte and an irony detector to decipher it :)

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Thank you for sharing, having a role model is an important gift. For me, I find that being a part of a community helped with that feeling of isolation. I joined the She Code Africa and I've always tried to be active in the community, through the community, I've had the opportunity to work with wonderful women

Collapse
 
cadienvan profile image
Michael Di Prisco

A Role model is crucial both as a woman in tech as it is as a man, or however you identify yourself, thanks for sharing!