DEV Community

Cover image for Can You Transform Your Life in 6 Months?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Can You Transform Your Life in 6 Months?

Can you transform your life in 6 months? What would you do? Share your plans and aspirations.

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev N.

You can transform your life in a day, it’s all about the mindset you have and the way you look at your life. I have struggled (and still struggling) with mental health, and I have learned that every limit I thought I had was placed there by none other than my own perception of my self worth. Sometimes I need to remind this to myself, sometimes I fall back to old, unhealthy thought patterns. But eventually it all boils down to how you perceive life. You can change it all for the better, start working on your mindset today.

Collapse
 
emmamegan profile image
Emma Megan

With dedication, perseverance, and a clear vision, you can cultivate new habits, learn valuable skills, and embrace a positive mindset. Every small step you take adds up, and in six months, you could find yourself on a remarkable journey towards a more fulfilling and purposeful life. Believe in your ability to grow, and seize the opportunities for positive transformation that come your way!

Collapse
 
mehmoodulhaq570 profile image
Mehmood-Ul-Haq

well its marvelous thinking

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Yes you definitely can. I'm not only proof of that. I also know about others who have done it too.

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I sure hope so! I turned down my teaching assignment for the spring and will be working really hard over the next 6 months to find job doing iOS dev!

Collapse
 
benherbst profile image
Ben Herbst

Tell me in 6 months if you reached goal!

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I'll try to remember, but hey, follow me and you'll know for sure.

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

You certainly can, but I also think that even after 6 months, you might still see your old habits seep through a little bit. And that's totally ok, no one perfects themselves in 6 months.

For example, I've done my best to remove videogames from most of my day. However, even after a few months of this resolution, I still catch myself playing Beam.ng Drive at 11 in the morning, when my TODO list isn't even half finished.

But, as I mentioned, that's totally ok. I don't expect myself to be perfect in just a few months, and neither should you.

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Yes, and it comes done to doing it 1 day at a time with a goal in mind while celebrating your own journey that you had done it.

I think Can't Hurt Me is an audiobook or book that i would get for your own transformation.

Collapse
 
madalitsonyemba profile image
Madalitso Nyemba

You can do it in a day. However, this transformation will be internal whereby mindset has changed. However, for it to externalize, it is not as easy as it requires consistency and dedication. In 6 months, you would have started to see the external benefits of your mindset shift. So, yes it is possible but it gets worse before it gets better.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

You can transform your life in a second with sudden injuries, so 6 months seems rather doable for a positive change. A lot of change and growth comes from small decisions that last and compound on each other.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yes

Collapse
 
xavierdev profile image
Lucille Xavier

Can, yes. Will I? No.

Collapse
 
benherbst profile image
Ben Herbst

Did it!

Collapse
 
crazycga profile image
James

It's very easy to transform one's professional life in a matter of seconds...

Check your employers admin password into a public GitHub repo.

Magic.

Collapse
 
saschadev profile image
Der Sascha

Not when you are married and have twi childs. This will becomes very complicated.

Many stress and thirdparty schedules dictates your live

Collapse
 
mehmoodulhaq570 profile image
Mehmood-Ul-Haq

Yes I think it is possible but the minimum time i think one is needed to transform himself is 40 days.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.