DEV Community

Cover image for DEV's Sorting Hat: What's Your Developer's Hogwart "'House"?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

DEV's Sorting Hat: What's Your Developer's Hogwart "'House"?

We're going back to coding school with Nostalgia Bytes this week! Don't forget your TI calculators, Trapper Keepers, Lisa Frank folders, and USB drives. Each decade has its own story to tell. So get ready to relive the past and share your nostalgic memories with fellow developers!

🧠 If you could enroll in a developer's Hogwarts, which programming language would be your chosen 'House,' and why?

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

cant wait to hear how others started out and the languages they chose and why ? and if they regretted afterwards or what .lol

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke • Edited

I started out with BASIC long before Harry Potter came out, but I remember doing a simple sorting hat game in JavaScript after it did. I also used to code in Perl for several years before switching over to PHP, all of which not only puts me in the house of classic web development, but also tells a lot about my age group.

Adding more controversial details:

I still love CSS.
I used to code XSLT and I don't regret it.
I'm not a great fan of React.

How can someone vote for one, and only one, favorite programming language?

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

you have good taste i love css i love js and i love html all vanilla.

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg

Oof, what a question

If each house is dedicated to just one language, I guess I would have to pick Typescript, just because I like working with it. But I prefer to have the options and flexibility of working with different tools.

In college, my first programming language was Visual Basic.