DEV Community

Cover image for School Lessons: Will I Use It in Real Life?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

School Lessons: Will I Use It in Real Life?

We're going back to coding school with Nostalgia Bytes this week! Don't forget your TI calculators, Trapper Keepers, Lisa Frank folders, and USB drives. Each decade has its own story to tell. So get ready to relive the past and share your nostalgic memories with fellow developers!

"What's one lesson from school that surprisingly translates well into coding principles?"

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

Honestly, yeah, it'll probably come up. I started as a Comp Sci major, and switched to creative writing with a linguistics minor. I once had a client who was asking about doing a translation of their site in Navajo, and I knew enough about the language to know where to go to find a translator specializing in it. Other things that I learned in school that have come up at one point or another: trigonometry, Zipf functions, philosophy (logic, mostly), technical writing, Pascal, Cobol, Spanish, German, economics, chemistry, geology, etc., etc.

Now whether that's because I bounced around a lot, or confirmation bias, or whatever, is TBD. But I've always found that anything I've learned becomes useful at some point.