DEV Community

Cover image for What's Your Funniest Coding Memory from the Retro Archives?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

What's Your Funniest Coding Memory from the Retro Archives?

We're going back to coding school with Nostalgia Bytes this week! Don't forget your TI calculators, Trapper Keepers, Lisa Frank folders, and USB drives. Each decade has its own story to tell. So get ready to relive the past and share your nostalgic memories with fellow developers!

📚 Back to School Memories: What's the funniest coding-related incident you recall from your early days as a developer?

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

Once I wrote a Perl-based libusb interface for use with MTP using Inline::C. I was working on using Perl to make a desktop app which managed podcasts on an MTP device.

The driver worked fantastically, but ironically the Qt bindings for Perl weren’t thread-safe. This meant I couldn’t stop the UI from locking up every time I made a network request, so I didn’t release it because the experience was terrible.

I did use the MTP module for a while, and at one point I used it to make a little CLI app for this USB dart turret.

Collapse
 
sidswirl profile image
Sid Probstein

Finding comments in code referring to old adventure games like Zork

Collapse
 
sjmulder profile image
Sijmen J. Mulder

Visual Basic 3 (and/or 6? not sure) used 'dips' (device-independent pixels) as the standard unit of measure and it would always mess up my pixel-perfect layouts. I wrote this sort of calibration tool to figure out the number of dips per pixel on a system but what an idiot I was! You could just go to the form (window) and select pixels as the unit of measurement. Well I was 12 or something so I have an excuse.

Collapse
 
evertones profile image
Everton Schneider • Edited

I worked as an outsourced for a project using Java/JBoss server.
When starting up the JBoss server, between the logs there was the whole "Our Father" prayer printed out.