DEV Community

Cover image for How to End Your Day Productively?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

How to End Your Day Productively?

What productivity tips contribute to ending the day on a positive note?


Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
ranjancse profile image
Ranjan Dailata

Publish a blog post on dev.to every day before you go to bed :)

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

i use sticky notes the paper version as it helps me to tear / throw away the task i have completed... i know it sounds stupid.. bit it works

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I ask myself if there is something I can do impactful to finish the day – if yes I have a specific thing to do productively to finish. If not, I make a clean break and sign off.

I try and ask myself this in time to not waste an hour at work I could be enjoying otherwise if I wasn't going to be productive anyways. I try not to be caught in the middle.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore
  1. To not think about work.
  2. Family time.
  3. My time
Collapse
 
marmariadev profile image
Maria M.

One tip that has consistently worked for me is the 'reflection and planning' routine. Every evening, I take 10-15 minutes to reflect on the day's achievements and setbacks. This helps in acknowledging the progress made and learning from any mistakes. Then, I shift to planning for the next day. I jot down the top three priorities for tomorrow. This not only sets a clear focus but also eases the anxiety of an overwhelming to-do list. Additionally, I find that a short, mindful meditation helps in transitioning from work mode to personal time, allowing me to end the day feeling balanced and accomplished.

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

I try to get a commit (or work on one at least) done before I go to bed. If I struggle to find the motivation to do so, I remind myself that I'll be a lot happier if the very last thing that I do that night is code.

Collapse
 
blitz_cloud profile image
Ionut aka BlitzCloud

It depends on the day, most of the time i try to keep a journal to track my progress and thoughts, it was pretty hard to stick to this habit at first, but now it helps me a lot. If someone is looking into a digital journal I recommend Logseq, not affiliated.

Collapse
 
learnwithparam profile image
Paramanantham Harrison
  • Think what you did today and do a short plan for tomorrow.

Often today might feel exhaustive due to long pending tasks, always mix and match with large and small tasks to feel the accomplishment for everyday (pomodoro setup helps here)

  • Get off from work thinking and focus on something else (gym, a video of a series, youtube shorts around interesting topics to de-focus from work)
Collapse
 
jestingrabbit profile image
Bill C

Review the days todo, and write what you can of the next days todo. This might reveal one or two things that you can knock off in the next few minutes, just to end the day on a win, or it will set you up to organise your thoughts for tomorrow.

Collapse
 
danmusembi profile image
Daniel Musembi

Reflecting and planning for next day