DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.


Totally agree with what you had to say about gaining experience, @_garybell — it comes from someone taking a chance on you!

None. Well, I had a degree in Software Engineering. I was really lucky that I got a job 5-6 weeks after finishing my degree. Right place, right time kinda thing. All it asked for was an understanding of PHP, HTML, JavaScript and CSS. They didn't use a framework as such, but had their own for their own product.

I worked for them for years. It was a great product, and I'm glad the company is still doing well. The down side was I never really got exposed to "proper" frameworks until about 7 years ago, so it held me back a little bit in some areas. It does give me a big advantage for software planning though. My thinking is not constrained by the standards of specific frameworks.

When I am looking for an entry level developer, I want to know if they know some of the language, can think for themselves, and follow instructions. I don't care about framework knowledge, degrees or whatever mad requirements jobs have. Frameworks can be learned. Degrees aren't for everyone. Experience comes with someone taking that chance. I don't mind being that chance. Afterall, someone was there to take a chance on me once (and a few jobs since).

Ok, ok. So it's kind of messed up to pick my own comment as one of the top five (don't worry — I'm not going to give myself a badge!) But this is an exceptional circumstance because this comment was dedicated to celebrating the winners of the DigitalOcean App Platform Hackathon on DEV 😊 🎉

BIG congrats to our...

Grand Prize Winners:

Runners-Up

And OF COURSE our incredible participants. These are truly some amazing projects. You should all be super proud ❤️

... winners like @dawntraoz ⭐️

Whaaat? I can't believe it... I'm freaking out 😱
Congratulations to all of you and especially to those of you who have participated, you have done incredible things and I have learned a lot from the projects you have developed 🎉
I don't know what else I can say... thank you very much and it is an honour 😳!
DEV and DigitalOcean are awesome and give a lot to the community, I hope to follow your example and help a lot of people 💜

Friendly debates are the heart and soul of DEV. Thanks for providing your take on Tailwind, @jfbrennan!

This year, my resolution has to be a disciplined individual, To make my resolution/Target fathomable. I will try to grow at least six small good habits this year. After bombing my resolution multiple times. I have realized without discipline, it is improbable to attain anything!

@hb has some open source regrets, but no regrets about getting involved with open source.

Not necessarily, open-source is amazing! I do regret committing my .env file once though.

See you next week for more great comments ✌

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Great comments @_garybell , @dawntraoz , @jfbrennan , and @hb ! And another kudos to the winners of the DigitalOcean App Platform Hackathon on DEV 🎊 🎊 🎊

Collapse
 
monika_roy1 profile image
Monika Roy

Boom 😎 I need to be more active here. 😅👏 thanks for the feature 💫💗

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

Wow! Thank you.