DEV Community

Cover image for Welcome Thread - v271

Welcome Thread - v271

Blue HELLO text


  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. šŸ‘‹

  3. Share your wins from this week in our weekly "What was your win this week? thread.

Top comments (171)

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

Hello, world! It is always a pleasure to have new members at DEV. We are a kind community and we want to read about your interests. I'm looking for people who would like to participate in the Public Speaking Challenge, do you wanna join?

Collapse
 
jose_juarez profile image
Jose Juarez

Any source on how to improve at public speaking ? Iā€™m terrible at this

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, I feel you on that. I'm pretty awful at it too. šŸ˜…

But hey, we do have loads of these resources... did a little search for ya here and there are quite a few articles on this topic!

If you need practice, I've heard a lotta folks talk about Toastmasters as being a great safe place that brings folks together to practice.

Thread Thread
 
jose_juarez profile image
Jose Juarez

Thanks

Thread Thread
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

Thanks for all your recommendations, @michaeltharrington! I'll check it out!

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

Just like me! The only way we can get better at public speaking is by exercising and with this Virtual Coffee project, we will be guided to the goal of the presentation. I have a lot of difficulties like I'm shy and I won't speak my mother language but I'm pretty determined to join this challenge.

Thread Thread
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
 
jose_juarez profile image
Jose Juarez

Not much human interaction or face to face. Iā€™ve been working remotely since beginning pandemia

Thread Thread
 
jose_juarez profile image
Jose Juarez

@thaisavieira what is this Virtual Coffee project ?

Thread Thread
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

Agree! Also, most educational systems just bring bad experiences about it without any theory or healthy practices to exercise.

Thread Thread
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

The challenge will be a great opportunity to break this ice. Choose your favorite topic, something you feel comfortable to talk about.

Thread Thread
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

You can check the latest event in this Youtube playlist. The Virtual Coffee is a monthly challenge and it will be my first time participating too!

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis
Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hello! šŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

Hello, @pavelee !

Collapse
 
zahidnazir profile image
Khan Zahid Nazir

šŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

Hello, Khan Zahid Nazir, be welcome!

Collapse
 
hellogoravpandey profile image
Gourav Pandey

But how to join ?
I am new I dev

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

For more details about joining this challenge, you can check the Public Speaking thread of two parts here:
1 dev.to/virtualcoffee/step-into-the...
2 dev.to/virtualcoffee/step-into-the... (check-in)

Collapse
 
theflash2024 profile image
Olamide Femi-Babatunde

Yes I would like to join

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

YEAAAHH! It will be a pleasure to listen to your topic at the event! Do you have anything in mind?

Thread Thread
 
theflash2024 profile image
Olamide Femi-Babatunde

I don't really have anything in mind

Thread Thread
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĆ­sa Vieira

I'm sure to some ideas will pop up soon!

Thread Thread
 
theflash2024 profile image
Olamide Femi-Babatunde

Yeah, me too

Collapse
 
keep_calm_and_code_on profile image
Alex Lau

Hi everyone! Iā€™m working on a blog series and book about software development that features big mistakes and lessons learned in my career as a developer.

Iā€™d love to hear from you - Iā€™m curious if you have any mistakes or lessons that stand out in your software development journey? If you have one you'd like to share, feel free to shoot me an email (it's listed on my profile) or leave a comment here!

Collapse
 
richardj profile image
Rā˜­

One of the biggest learning points, not only for me as a developer, but also in approaching projects. An agile / scrum approach is not always the best! It really depends on where you are in a project, and with that comes a personal lesson learned: getting details perfect is not always preferred even though that part can tickle the tinkering part of your brain.

Collapse
 
keep_calm_and_code_on profile image
Alex Lau

These are great ones! Having to let go of perfectionism is one of the hardest and most useful skills imo.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Such a cool idea, Alex ā€” I love these kinda stories!

Also, good thinking on dropping a note here in the Welcome Thread. Hope ya get some good responses! šŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
mohammed_akram profile image
Mohammed Akram

For me, a key lesson was to never dive straight into coding. Whenever I encounter a challenge, I make it a habit to grab a pencil and paper first. I sketch out solutions step by step, well before I write a single line of code. It's a simple practice that has saved me from many headaches.

Collapse
 
iberi profile image
ISRAEL

*Hello devs! *
Am Excited to be part of the community. Just stepping into the world of cloud engineering, and I'm already three weeks deep and super pumped up.

Who else is on this journey? Let's connect and share our progress together.
I am equally very eager to connect with all the seasoned cloud engineers here.
Your mentorship, insights, experience and guidance would really make my transition to cloud engineering very smooth.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ayo! Great to have ya with us here, ISRAEL. My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager at DEV. šŸ™Œ

I hope the early days as a cloud eng are working out well for ya and that you find our community has some helpful folks to help guide ya!

Anywho, if you have any questions/feedback or need any help using the platform, don't hesitate to hit me up!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
richardj profile image
Rā˜­

Persistence is already a win! And there is more than enough resources for learning web development to go around!

Collapse
 
rods2000 profile image
Rods2000

Hey Kyle maybe I can join you on one of those 100 days and learn along with you while you code? Iā€™m just starting myself so still a bit unsure of everything but this looks like a good place to start šŸ˜Š

Collapse
 
kamleshjha profile image
Kamlesh Jha

Hello Dev Community, Extremely Excited to be part of this community. I work as a Data Scientist from past 10 Years and currently working on Some Computer vision and Object Detection Problems.

Found a Blog on Community which helped me solve my Docker issue
Hoping to Learn more and Contribute to the community here with whatever knowledge i hold.

Thanks

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Hello, It's great to have you here, I'm glad you found a blog to help you solve an issue. There are lots of amazing writers in the community. I hope you find more helpful resources in the community and share some more resources soon šŸ˜

Collapse
 
leandro_nnz profile image
Leandro NuƱez

Hi! Leandro NuƱez 43yo, Argentinian software engineer!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel šŸ•µšŸ»ā€ā™‚ļø Fayard

šŸ‘‹šŸ» Che boludo cĆ³mo estĆ”s?

Collapse
 
leandro_nnz profile image
Leandro NuƱez

jajajaja. Bien boludo, vos?

Thread Thread
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel šŸ•µšŸ»ā€ā™‚ļø Fayard

Aqui en Paris, donde hay muchos argentinos, y entonces empanadas ricas para comer

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Hello Leandro, welcome to the community

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hello! Great to have you here! šŸ‘šŸ‘šŸ‘

Collapse
 
krlz profile image
krlz

Welcome Leandro, what kind of projects are you working on now?

Collapse
 
leandro_nnz profile image
Leandro NuƱez

Hi! Thank you. Now I'm working on a customized electric fence with RaspberryPi and Raspberry Pi Pico W. What about you?

Collapse
 
anandmantoju profile image
Anand Mantoju

Hi, Myself Anand Mantoju,
CAD Developer and started learning web development.

Collapse
 
krlz profile image
krlz

Hey, keep the hard work and study going!, I would like to contribute with some important advice not always mentioned as frequently as it should: Staying hydrated is key for keeping your brain sharp and your energy levels high. Our bodies are mostly water, and staying hydrated helps keep you from feeling sluggish, headachy, and distracted. Even a small drop in hydration can mess with your focus and cognitive function. So, make sure to chug enough water throughout the day. It's not just about avoiding dehydration; it's about making sure your brain and body are in top shape for a more productive learning experience

Collapse
 
jose_juarez profile image
Jose Juarez

So true! You feel the difference

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hey! šŸ‘‹ great to have you here! šŸ‘

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Hello there Anand, welcome to the community

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Ā°ā€¢.Āøā˜†

Welcome to DEV, Anand Mantoju! I hope you will enjoy it here!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you! Please introduce yourself.

Collapse
 
devin360 profile image
Devin Sharp

Hello. I just signed up for Codecademy and this website was suggested so I joined. How is everyone doing? I am learning with App Academy as well as the online college Purdue Global. Thanks

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Ā°ā€¢.Āøā˜†

Hello there! Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
devin360 profile image
Devin Sharp

Thank you.

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Hello, welcome to the community. It's an amazing community and I'm sure you'd love it here

Collapse
 
devin360 profile image
Devin Sharp

thanks. :)

Collapse
 
tonybubani profile image
Anthony Ubani

Hello Everyone! I'm a Cloud Engineer, started around 6 months back and have been immersing myself in studying and developing my skills and knowledge of different tools one day at a time. I'm excited to be here and I'm looking forward to learning from and contributing to the community!

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

Hello, it's great to have you here. Welcome to the community

Collapse
 
eryckbarreto profile image
EryckBarreto

Hii, I'm a brazilian sofware engineer, 30yo. I'm glad to be part of this amazing community. I hope to contribute here in the same way that this community has helped me so much throughout my career, nice to meet you all.

Collapse
 
ilizette profile image
Elizabeth

It's great to have you as part of the community.

Collapse
 
scdcompany profile image
SCD Company | Custom Software

Hello, world!

We are team SCD Company! We build custom software solutions and provide IT Consulting services.

Excited to be part of this amazing community!

linkedin.com/company/scd-company/

Collapse
 
kmydesign profile image
Kmy

Hi everyone, I'm a novice webdev, I've been a graphic designer for almost a decade but I found some peace in writing code so here I am. Stepping into a whole new world and I'm ready for this magic carpet ride hahaha! I've been working on HTML & CSS for a little while with the Odin Project, and I'm currently working on JS with FCC.

Looking forward to learning, reading and going down many rabbit holes!

Collapse
 
rafasantos profile image
Rafael Carneiro dos Santos • Edited

Oi galera, sou o Rafael estou apreendendo a programar sou beeem iniciante no mundo da programaĆ§Ć£o, no momeento estou estudando sobre Java e C#, gosto muito de resolver problemas, ainda estou em indeciso sobre qual linguagem escolher para criar carreira. Mas Ć© isso tmj galeuris

Collapse
 
shaileshvaidya profile image
Shailesh Vaidya

Hello Everyone,

I am a passionate DevOps Architect with extensive experience in designing and implementing enterprise-level DevOps solutions. My expertise lies in cloud computing, containerization, automation, and CI/CD pipelines. Throughout my career, I've collaborated with numerous organizations to streamline their software development and delivery processes, enabling them to achieve greater efficiency and agility.

Looking forward for great learning experience here !!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.