DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey there!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Trying out a new hobby... or whatever else might spark joy ❤️

Have a wonderful weekend!

Resting cat with the words "happy weekend" above

Top comments (41)

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

My blog post was published on the stackoverlow blog. An interview I gave was published. I had covid during the interview and it shows a bit...

Collapse
 
davidluise profile image
ghostHunter

Hello, Shai.
Could tell me the title? So I want to read it.

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

"How observability is redefining the roles of developers" I embedded a direct link in the comment.

Collapse
 
m_ahmad profile image
Muhammad Ahmad
Collapse
 
zainiqbalengr profile image
zainiqbal-engr

Very helpful website.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I got 3rd place at the Replit Template Jam!

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

Congrats on winning Medea! Would you consider entering our contest here on dev.to ? (Only one entry so far and it ends July 31) We are not sure how to drive traffic to it.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Yeah I’ll try doing it when I have some free time!

Collapse
 
yuridevat profile image
Julia 👩🏻‍💻 GDE

An article of mine (about the what how and why accessibility) was features in the latest codenewbie newsletter under the ressources section for the first time 😎

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Our win was to release the SQL database designer - And 2,000 people reading about it here at DEV :)

Collapse
 
davidluise profile image
ghostHunter

Sir, what is SQL database designer?

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

There is a link to it in my comment. It allows you to graphically design and modify your database by applying high level constructs such as buttons, checkboxes and select drop down lists, instead of having to write SQL DDL manually.

It makes it 100 times easier to create a database, at least for me. It supports SQL Server, MySQL, PostgreSQL and SQLite …

Collapse
 
omohemma profile image
Omololu Emmanuel • Edited

I was really inspired by Blinks summary of The Pursuit Of Excellence by Ryan Hawk (Free Summary). Here are my wins:

  • Took an exercise on learning the concepts od state magement in react
  • Attended a Vue 3 Composition API workshop
  • Leverage on Cypress Component Testing
  • Wrote my first frontend development article. 💃💃💃 link
Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Learned some lessons of consistency 🏁

Collapse
 
sojinsamuel profile image
Sojin Samuel

I was on a personal project, i was stuck on how should i implement this logic, felt like giving up. after giving some time away from the screen (probably 24hrs). i was able to implement it. i still dont know how i did it, i mean it was incredibly easy when i took a long break.

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

My team did officially kickoff the arrival of Quarkus to our stack with the release of an opensource & opendata related API see below for more details :

Collapse
 
preethi_dev profile image
Preethi⚡ • Edited

It's a long term journey of researching on CSS Grid for Modern Layouts. Finally🎉🎉, This week I completed 25 modern layouts and published as 25 Extremely Modern Layouts using CSS Grid at Dev.

Modern Layouts

Collapse
 
mathiascs profile image
Mathias Riis Sørensen

I was successful in creating a FQL query (FaunaDB), which looked up a document and based on some IDs within the document, I could select those and look up the corresponding document from another collection. Very helpful for what I was trying to do.

Collapse
 
mrdanishsaleem profile image
Danish Saleem

This week was pretty rough for me. I was doing database migrations and documenting APIs which were built pervious. But at last, I have completed both tasks🙌

Collapse
 
krishnaagarwal profile image
Krishna Agarwal

My Recently Posted articles got 15000+ views on DEV.to

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

Deployed my FYP to heroku today. You can find here even though there are some stuff I have to fix.
Heroku has limitation of removing local file once a day. I am writing some data in local file system for a reason.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Managed to fix a tricky bug!