DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey folks! ๐Ÿ‘‹

Hope y'all all have wonderful weekends. ๐Ÿ˜€

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count โ€” big or small ๐ŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Going on a nice walk with the dog ๐Ÿฆฎ

A french bulldog getting walked, or rather dragged, in the snowy city streets

Top comments (36)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

It was my one year anniversary at Netlify this past Tuesday!

Collapse
 
aliviahhilliard profile image
Aliviah Hilliard

Congratulations! That is awesome!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Thanks Aliviah!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! So awesome... but dangit, that also means it's been a whole year that we haven't had you on the DEV team. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

Still, so happy that ya still regularly participate on DEV and chime in here! ๐Ÿ™Œ

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

congrats!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Thanks @vulcanwm!

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

โœ…finished debugged my python script I've been working on
โœ…found an edge case in live usage
โœ…edge case isn't a show-stopper
โœ…bought my kid a kick-ass new mountain bike
โœ…started casting about for a new project to tackle
โœ…had a decent week at the office
โœ…learning Azure

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! A win for each day of the week. Awesome stuff, Dan!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

woah amazing!

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Finally had a bit of time to work on my new JVM.

Got invited to headline a conference without applying. Turns out I'm speaking at two other conferences around that date so I need to see if I can squeeze them all in.

Was able to record new videos for my channel despite the holiday and being under the weather.

Collapse
 
aliviahhilliard profile image
Aliviah Hilliard

Instantly subscribed to your channel.

Collapse
 
zachjonesnoel profile image
Jones Zachariah Noel

I've been accepted at tag moderator. ๐Ÿคฉ

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

nice! same!

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

That's so awesome! Congrats to you both!

Thread Thread
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

thanks!

Thread Thread
 
zachjonesnoel profile image
Jones Zachariah Noel

Thanks!! ๐Ÿ™Œ

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

I just bought a hang board to support my bouldering hobby. I'm going to install it this weekend and get going on developing better grip strength. I know it will be hard, but I'm excited!

Collapse
 
envoy_ profile image
Vedant Chainani • Edited

Won a bounty for a article

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

There's a restaurant in my neighborhood which finally opened after like a year of delays. Going out to eat there tonight.

It's the little things โ˜บ๏ธ

Collapse
 
callmehongmaybe profile image
CallmeHongmaybe

I got an opportunity to contribute to a side projects with students from my old university this Sunday. Hope this weekend's a productive one.

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Relaunched my portfolio.

Updated some content on a site I manage.

Made some more CSS art and even blogged about it before the weekend,

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I had a good technical conversation with folks around town, demoed some early parts of a tool I'm calling Gitstractor, and submitted an audition for an online course.

Collapse
 
erikpischel profile image
Erik Pischel

I finally figured out why we didn't get any code coverage in sonarqube (jacoco reports turned off)

deleted code that wasn't used anymore (deleting code is the best when there is so much of it haha!)

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

I finally started learning React Native.
Ended up creating a simple random based app in one day, and Iโ€™m now working on another app!


I got selected as a tag moderator 2 days ago.
Looking forward to being a bigger part of the community!

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes • Edited

Fixed a tricky bug(which I asked help for here on DEV and at stackoverflow. New article's up!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

great work!

Collapse
 
mihneasim profile image
Mihnea Simian

I've searched for inspiration on career path choices, after 4 years as a Chapter Lead (and counting). I've run into Will Larson's Staff Engineer and An Elegant Puzzle. I started reading the latter, challenging one engineer in my team to read the former.

I expect to motivate each other in reaching the end of the read. Hopefully with some "a-ha" moments on the way.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt โ˜•

Oh woah, the dog gif it's like me... Hanging out a bit on the things I need to do right now ๐Ÿ˜