DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey everybody πŸ‘‹

Hope that y'all all have wonderful weekends.

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Making a tasty meal πŸ§†

Jackie Chan licking his lips

Top comments (52)

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I made my first blog post in nearly a year on my personal site, and accidentally ended up featured on the ooh.directory newsletter πŸ˜„οΈ

Image description

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati • Edited

That's awesome, Andy! 🀩
Congrats! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Rock on! That's awesome. πŸ™Œ

I know you've been venturing down the 3d printing path for a good bit now... nice to see that ya found some software to keep that world organized.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice!

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

I finally wrote again after months! πŸ™ŒπŸΌ
Also, I got 78 new DEV Community followers in the past day just after I posted my article! 🀩

78 new DEV Community followers

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Good to see you posting again, Ayu.
It's been a while.

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thanks, Juan πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
adriansalvatori profile image
Adrian Salvatori

I succesfully implemented what I call a Momentum carousel in a project I'm working on.
Image description

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

woah this looks amazing!

Collapse
 
adriansalvatori profile image
Adrian Salvatori

I know right? haha

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Looks awesome! Nicely done.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Very cool!

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

I finished β€œThe World We Make” by N.K. Jemisin. Marvelous book from the only author to win three consecutive Hugo awards, and to win awards for all three books in a trilogy.

I also managed to take a whole week off of work without logging in at all, which is a really big accomplishment for me.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice!

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

Thanks

Collapse
 
brnms profile image
Bruno Santos

Got back to the gym and started eating healthy again. Guess what? Just a few days and I'm already feeling more focused when working/studying/reading

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Awesome!

This book is a really great investigation of the link between exercise and brain function. I'd recommend it if you haven't read it. Really helps me hammer home the need to get physical exercise for the sake of a healthy mind.

Collapse
 
brnms profile image
Bruno Santos

Thanks for the suggestion, definitely going to read it

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

just did my piano grade 8 exam!
don't need to learn any more pieces now and can actually play songs i like!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! Major congrats Medea.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

thanks!

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

My new book is out and already the #1 new release in Java Programming!

I started on a newer book last week and am past the halfway mark at 150 pages. Will probably have it out in a couple of weeks...

Decided to leave a startup I was working on. It's technically a loss but I'm counting it as a win because in the past I would have had a hard time with the "sunk time fallacy". This time I made the right call early on and cut.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow! That is quite a feat. Major congrats!

I am not surprised though! Your output and work ethic is incredible. I regulary see ya sharing awesome content in the Java space.

As for leaving the startup, it sounds like you have a good outlook on it all. Anywho, wishing ya the best on the new book and whatever else comes next!

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen
Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I finished writing a chapter that wound up being almost 50 pages long, sent edits back for 3 other chapters already in review, and fixed a particularly tricky bug yesterday.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Sounds like an accomplished week to me! Nice to hear the book is coming along well.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Yeah, I'm real near being done with the first drafts on the whole of part 1. In a few days I'll have 6 chapters in first draft or better and 11 remaining. I suspect that first part will be the hardest chunk of the book to write, other than a pair of technically challenging chapters around Roslyn Analyzers. Still feels a bit surreal to be writing a book through a publisher, but I'm really enjoying it.

Collapse
 
bhendi profile image
Jyothikrishna

I wrote an article on my fav tool tailwindcss. View Post

Collapse
 
soumyadeepdey profile image
Soumyadeep Dey β˜‘οΈ

I am new in this community!

But i thought lets give ot a try after failing to get views in articles in medium, hashnode , code newbie

But dev community boosted my confidence literally in just 10 post i gained over 690 followers

Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow! Rock on Soumyadeep! 🎸

Collapse
 
soumyadeepdey profile image
Soumyadeep Dey β˜‘οΈ

YayyyyπŸ€˜πŸ–€

Collapse
 
giuliano1993 profile image
Giuliano1993

This week i finally put online my personal website! Still have bugs though and i have to work on it, but I'm so happy! And I'm working on a newsletter I think i will launch next week! So lot of happiness this week :D

Collapse
 
mohanmukund13 profile image
Mukund Mohan • Edited

Got 85 new followers on dev.to last week

I curate a free weekly newsletter where we list 50 high quality developer jobs from top VC backed startups. As a distribution activity, I started posting on dev.to a few weeks ago. Thank you guys for supporting me with this.

Newsletter - startupsanddevs.kombai.com
Airtable - airtable.com/app5miO5yrj4fN2Da/shr...

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

After a while, I have started reading books again (which I enjoy). This time a book by one of my favorite author's John le CarrΓ© - A Legacy Of Spies. I have been reading his books since late 1980's - the first one was The Spy Who Came in from the Cold. I have read at least 12 of his books.

The last book I had finished was The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce. This I had liked it; it is an unusual story about a middle-aged guy who walks more than 500 kilometers to see a dying friend. I was even inspired to walk a few kilometers to do some errands (normally, I would have taken some kind of transportation).

I also, created a website for myself (I already posted an article on this forum My first personal website; it has some professional details. I had something like that on my mind for a while. It is useful, that I don't have to think about what to tell in some work related communications.

Collapse
 
ulisesserranop profile image
Ulises Serrano

I have two wins

  1. Get more than 400 followers here, and all my content is in Spanish.
    Followers

  2. Get the badge of 8 weeks of streak.

Badge