DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey folks πŸ‘‹

Hope y'all all have wonderful weekends!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Going hiking! πŸ₯Ύ

The video starts with a close-up shot of a desk-sized wacky waving inflatable tube man doing its thing... the camera zooms out and we see a man flailing his arms and bending his torso in a similar fashion. The two dance together violently as the word "FRI-YAY" jumps up and down on the bottom of the screen.

Top comments (32)

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

βœ… got my Azure AZ-900 certification completed
βœ… got my girlfriend's Wordpress site spun up
βœ… registered for Microsoft Build conference in May
βœ… stayed super productive despite the grey/rainy/depressing weather

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper • Edited

Oh, I have a few:

A door with a sign "Forge & Craft"

A pen drawing of a logo with a robot arm made with sticks

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woooaaa! This brachiograph plotter is so cool! I def wanna hear more about this...

And it was my pleasure interviewing ya, Andy! Plus, thanks for all the help β€” from interviewing to editing β€” you really did a lot to make this interview come to fruition!

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper • Edited
Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Finally back in a place where I can resume my homemade projects/hobbies :~) I've been on the road a lot this last year so it's been hard to pursue non-computer related hobbies but this was the first week I felt settled in quite a while

Fired up some pizza, froze 2 gallons of homemade chicken stock, and acquired a pressure canner so I can start canning some soups and sauces 😎 the weather finally took a turn for the better in New York so I'm generally excited for the warm season to start fishing, gardening, hiking, etc. again, been cooped up for way too long πŸ˜…

Some pizza I made ;) :
Homemade pizza with various toppings such as tomatoes, mushrooms, etc.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooooaaaaa, that pizza looks freakin' amazing! YUM!!

The warm weather is rolling into Carolina right now too and it has been a very welcome change. I'm planning a little camping trip up to Grandfather Mountain next month to get my fill of woodsy activities... can't wait!

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

That is some gorgeous pizza!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard • Edited

I have been overwhelmed with joy seeing the reactions to my article about developers careers. I have been obsessed by this topic since at least 3 years, because there is so much waste of human talents, and it seems that now, at last, at very long last, all pieces of the puzzle are finally coming together.

If you like music, this is the kind of overwhelming joy I'm feeling right now

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Yayy I'm so happy for you :D no better feeling than getting that validation on your passion projects - congratulations!

I haven't read these pieces yet but I'll check them out later today 😎 keep up the great work!!! :D

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

This week we launched the Featured Mod of the Month interview

that I designed the visuals for!! I was super excited about this one and am proud of how it came out.

Also played tennis for the second time since I was a child this week!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo heck yeah!

You are always rocking the graphics, Rachel. They turned out brilliant. πŸ™Œ

And hooray for tennis... I used to play regularly but it's been a couple years. I really wanna get back out there on the courts! 🎾

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

Yeah, this interview is sweet and the graphics just accentuate that. Congrats to you, Michael, and Andy, of course!

Collapse
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner • Edited
  • After mostly mucking about with 3D CSS on Codepen for the past two years I finally dipped my toe in the back-end side of things. I did have some prior experience with PHP loops and arrays, now I'd like to code something myself from start to finish - using Laravel
  • ...and JS, which I'd also shied away from before. Not really ready yet, but I did manage to cobble together a Candy Crush clone (based on a tutorial by Ania KubΓ³w
  • The drive to get into back-end in no way means I'm going to stop muching about with 3D on Codepen. If anything, I'm speeding up! Two pens CSS pens in week (on top of the Candy Crush clone)
  1. OpalesCSSent:
  2. Sea-Sickening Starfish: The SeaQuel:
Collapse
 
nald profile image
Nald

This looks cool, good job!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wow, these are awesome!! Digging them all but especially love the candy crush clone, haha. πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
abhixsh profile image
Abishek Haththakage

Got Another dev moderator tags.

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

We ❀️ our tag mods!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

I've been on panels, given talks at meetups and Lunch & Learns, but this week, I gave my first conference talk, "Fresh: a new full stack web framework for Deno"! It was remote, but still feel pretty good about it. Next goal, an in person conference talk!

The recording isn't available yet, but you can check out the slide deck and demo for now.

Node Congress promo for my talk Fresh: a new full stack web framework for Deno

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

I had my yearly review Friday and was promoted to Front End Team Leader! πŸ₯°πŸ˜­ it’s the first time for our department being split front and backend development as we’re still quite a small business so being in charge of the front end development I’ve been putting my 6/12 month plan together and I’m super excited πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ€©

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

-Landed a senior solutions architect phone interview
-My new YouTube podcast hit over 500 views in its first week

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Was offered a CTO role in a new startup. Haven't decided yet.
Wrote a new post for another publication.
Had another interview come out and scheduled another interview in a relatively large channel.

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

I’m just going to let this Tweet speak for itself: twitter.com/codeschrissy/status/16...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

So awesome!! Congrats on growing that follower count on Hashnode. πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
levischouten profile image
Levi Schouten • Edited

Finally launched my personal website levischouten.net!

Still has a long way to go, but I'm really happy to have something live :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Shipped some big design fixes to embeds so they render more consistently, and Meme Monday hit 100 comments this week!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.