DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her) for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week β€” what was something you're proud of?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

Have a great weekend!

Friday

Top comments (51)

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K

My editor told me I was an amazing technical writer especially for a non-native speaker.

That really made my day.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Best compliment ever.

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

At the beginning of the week I finished my 100 days of CSS art project! I can't believe 100 days have passed already! Plus, today I was able to optimise an animation at work using something I learned during the project 😁

If anyone fancies reading about my CSS art journey I wrote a little bit here

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Re learned SQL, and almost learned Python.

Collapse
 
skaytech profile image
skaytech

I haven't been able to blog regularly with other work commitments. I still managed to stay up late yesterday and push one article out today. I would consider that as a win. Here's me wishing you all a great weekend!!

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR πŸ₯‡

This week i was working on the oldest project we have and I did a deploy to production this morning. We all survived and that old big piece of software didn't died so it's a win for the team πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Congrats!!!

Collapse
 
remotesynth profile image
Brian Rinaldi

Finally re-launched cfe.dev/ - Almost completely rebuilt from the ground up with a new look, improved navigation, way better lighthouse score and new user accounts. For anyone curious, it's built using Jamstack with Hugo as an SSG, Algolia for search, Netlify Forms and Netlify Identity for user management.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Site is looking CLEAN ✨

Collapse
 
remotesynth profile image
Brian Rinaldi

Thanks! Appreciate the positive feedback.

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

A job I applied to got back to me within 24 hrs requesting a phone call with one of the engineers. πŸ˜„

I'm nervous but also pumped. πŸ‘Š

Collapse
 
phantas0s profile image
Matthieu Cneude

πŸ“™ I made a lot of progress for my book, Building Your Mouseless Development Environment. The formatting for epub / PDF is 90% complete, I finished the outline, and I wrote the first drafts for the first chapters.

🎊

Collapse
 
barahonajm profile image
Juan Barahona • Edited

Finally getting better at creating visuals for my posts (at least from my point of view), now time to work my writing skills πŸ‘·β€β™‚οΈ


From

Collapse
 
jeansberg profile image
Jens Genberg • Edited

I completed my first Github workflow :) It copies some OpenAPI spec files from one repo to a central API documentation repo when a new release is created.

AND my first PR was merged into github.com/forem/forem

Collapse
 
davidedelpapa profile image
Davide Del Papa

I finished part 9 of the tutorial I'm writing, which took me forever to write. Some things in the project I'm writing about changed considerably while I was writing the code for the tutorial, while other dependencies had some issues... it was hard to finish, and harder still to review it!

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao • Edited

I was approached by my country's digital technology department that is involved in accessibility initiatives in my country. To talk about the project DUST (Differently-Abled Upskill Training) which I'm teaching differently able individuals to learn to build websites using a low code platform over 3 months.

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

I gave 2 people (who were almost like strangers to me) some career advice!

I covered:

  • The software industry.
  • How to study efficiently.
  • About college placement cells.
  • Targeting big companies.

And most importantly, how to make time for a side hustle!

And I felt like...

Master GIF

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

Managed to get GlusterFS replica created and mounted on 3 node servers, and then automatically mounted on new servers as part of a terraform run. Being able to do that ourselves is going to save my company some serious money when we deploy our new application.

Means we don't need an external company involved in the building of a cloud in AWS, we can pick just about any cloud service now.

Collapse
 
steeve profile image
Steeve • Edited

βœ… I have finally finished setting up my personal NAS with a RAID10 based on 4 HDD :D I don't need to use anymore Google Drive or Onedrive.

βœ… 6 months of cold shower, I'll definitely keep this habit.

πŸš‚ The next project in progress: build my own FPV drone, I'm so excited :D