DEV Community

Cover image for What's Your Ideal Coding Environment?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

What's Your Ideal Coding Environment?

Welcome to Code Chatter, your go-to series for conversational coding insights. What makes this series of questions different from all the others? Well, truth be told, not much, but they're still thought-provoking and fun. Join us as we explore the coding world, one witty question at a time.

What physical environment do you find most conducive for coding, and how does it impact your productivity?

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

My macbook, the room a little dark, good music and it's raining outside! Perfect for coding 😍

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg

perfect

Collapse
 
shriharimurali profile image
Shrihari
  • I prefer a quiet and well-lit space that minimizes distractions. Good lighting is essential to reduce eye strain,
  • An ergonomic workspace with a comfortable chair, an adjustable desk, and proper monitor positioning
  • A comfortable temperature and adequate ventilation
  • If a quiet environment is not possible, noise-cancelling headphones or acoustic treatments can help block out distractions
Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair
  • a comfy chair
  • a large desk with one of those huge mats on it
  • two or three good, high-resolution monitors
  • a dark room with subtle lighting
  • good lightweight open-back headphones
  • a tactile keyboard and a proper mouse
  • consistent, controlled temperature
Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle • Edited

Boy do I wish I knew. Finding flow is difficult for me sometimes. A large part of this is the number of people I work with and live with. It's not their fault, it's just an unavoidable side-effect of having so many easy distractions in your orbit.

If I get enough sleep, establish boundaries with the folks I live and work with, and I have a good cup of coffee, I can make any environment good enough.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Mostly my usual desk in the most consistent setup I can find — however, I need to break this up with some work-from-public situations occasionally to break the monotony.

Collapse
 
leandro_nnz profile image
Leandro Nuñez

Laptop + Mate + Black Sabbath for front/ Pantera for back. No matter if it is a desk, a bed or a table.

Collapse
 
neilb_92 profile image
Neil B

Plural - I need multiple environments to stay fresh. They can just be a remix of the mundane, like rearranging furniture, or something a little novel.