DEV Community

Cover image for Toughest Learning Moment?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Toughest Learning Moment?

Welcome to Code Chatter, your go-to series for conversational coding insights. What makes this series of questions different from all the others? Well, truth be told, not much, but they're still thought-provoking and fun. Join us as we explore the coding world, one witty question at a time.

What concept or skill was particularly challenging for you to grasp when you were learning to code, and what finally helped it click?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel ๐Ÿ•ต๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ Fayard

Learning to test things correctly was a huge challenge for me.

I was doing Android development, my colleagues were good but young and had no great understanding of testing, the Google docs were in mode "you should test your app" but provide very poor quality documentation on how to do it, it felt like a huge investment of time for little value.

Collapse
 
svemaraju profile image
Srikanth

Testing was hard one to grasp when I was beginner. In my case it was python. For example, it did not makes sense that I can just hardcode expected outputs. I would try to generate expected outputs in a fancy automated way and it made things more complicated for me. Also as beginner I was writing code that was very hard to test easily.

Collapse
 
ranggakd profile image
Retiago Drago

Dynamic programming for me, sometimes it's feels so good when I figuring it out but other times not so much

Collapse
 
svemaraju profile image
Srikanth

Good API design. I still consider myself a beginner here. What to expose, what not to expose? How to name things? How to split things into separate APIs? etc.