DEV Community

Cover image for Favorite Dev Tool?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Favorite Dev Tool?

Welcome to Code Chatter, your go-to series for conversational coding insights. What makes this series of questions different from all the others? Well, truth be told, not much, but they're still thought-provoking and fun. Join us as we explore the coding world, one witty question at a time.

What's your all-time favorite development tool or software, and how has it improved your workflow?

Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

If I'd need to choose one I'd say WebStorm (or any other JetBrains' IDE, depending on tech you tackle), as it has everything (I mean, not "everything" mentioned in another comment but just simply everything šŸ˜…) and more.

Collapse
 
chema profile image
JosƩ Marƭa CL

Yeah, nowadays we need a lot of extensions in vscode to cover the features that WebStorm offers. I love the usages and references navigation, it's like the Visual Studio IDE but for JS

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ā˜•

Love working with Webstorm!

Collapse
 
chema profile image
JosƩ Marƭa CL

x2

Collapse
 
ranggakd profile image
Retiago Drago

For Windows User, this one little bit underated

Everything

Yes, the software is called Everything. "Everything" is a freeware desktop search utility for Windows developed by VoidTools. It can rapidly find files and folders by name. Unlike the Windows search, "Everything" initially displays every file and folder on your computer.

The utility is free, although VoidTools suggests a modest $5 donation. You can simply download it from the VoidTools website, and run the file to install it. It will then take a few moments to create its index, after which all of its features are immediately available.

The Everything service helps Everything index NTFS volumes and monitor USN Journals. Everything can run as a standard user when the Everything service is installed. On XP or earlier, the Everything service is not required.

Collapse
 
dragosb profile image
disced

Is the best tool for windows, works like a F1. And you have the posibility to find with regex, between dates, filter by file sizes and much more.

Everything advance search

Collapse
 
blueskyson profile image
Jack Lin

Wow, I think it's a little bit like a desktop version of autojump?

Collapse
 
ranggakd profile image
Retiago Drago

I did not know about autojump but it really helps a lot in term of searching the whole thing in my laptop

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

I love step debuggers. From the first time I used the debugger in Borland turbo c++ 3.0, I have been fascinated with having the ability to debug my code this way.

One of the things that frustrates me so much in the cloud spaces is that I canā€™t always use a debugger, which is no fun. Ruby didnā€™t even have a debugger when I first used it.

I love profilers, too. strace is also a lot of fun, and I miss it dearly on macOS.

Collapse
 
drazisil profile image
Molly Crendraven • Edited

brew install dtrace

/usr/bin/dtrace

:)

Edit: If that doesn't work, yell at me and I'll double-check the next time I'm at the Mac.

Edit 2: 8thlight.com/insights/dtrace-even-...

I lied, no homebrew needed, it comes built-in

Collapse
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle • Edited

I appreciate that, but dtrace requires elevated privs. Itā€™s a really bad habit to get into, relying on elevated privileges in your development workflow. Some processes will refuse to run with those elevated privileges, too.

Additionally, strace and dtrace give you differently formatted output, and behave differently. As odd as it may seem, sometimes folks have preferences for one tool over another. In addition to the security hygiene concerns, I have a preference for strace, and prefer to monitor system calls from user space.

I understand that it can sometimes feel good to comment as though you know something that others do not, but it didnā€™t feel great to receive your comment the way it was offered.

Thread Thread
 
drazisil profile image
Molly Crendraven

My extreme apologies. I had forgot that. Doesn't strace as well though? Or am I remembering incorrectly?

Thread Thread
 
manchicken profile image
Mike Stemle

Naw, strace works only in userland via ptrace.

Collapse
 
klvenky profile image
Venkatesh KL

I personally love Quokka.js extension for vscode. Since I write a lot of random scripts, it's amazing to verify a syntax or do a very small prototype which runs instantly.
I also like the instant deploy solutions like vercel, netlify, surge etc to name a few. They break the barrier of entry to devs into world of internet hosting

Collapse
 
chema profile image
JosƩ Marƭa CL

I couldn't install it and configure correctly u.u

Collapse
 
iamspathan profile image
Sohail Pathan

I love three tools the most:

  1. VS Code (obviously) - It's the best IDE I've come across.
  2. ApyHub - It speeds up my application development by outsourcing compute tasks. No need to build small parts of my application (I highly recommend it!)
  3. Homebrew CLI - Can't imagine my life without it.
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Raycast is definitely one of my favourites (macOS only). Huge boost to my productivity.

For anyone interested, hereā€™s my full setup and the tools I use.

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
vbd profile image
Volker B. Duetsch

Vim, rg, fd, lsd, git, Windows Terminal, nimbletext.com/, Total Commander, ImageMagick, FFmpeg, pandoc, reveal.js

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg

šŸ¤˜Vim!

Collapse
 
wraith profile image
Jake Lundberg

my fav hardware developer tool is definitely my keyboard. I splurged a few years ago and got a Moonlander, and it was soooo worth it!

for software, I'm gonna have to go with Warp terminal. I switched over about a year ago and have been so happy with it. Being able to get rid of some other tools and config files from my setup in favor of stuff they already have built in was really nice.

Collapse
 
gravy profile image
Grace Icay

I love the Playwright extension on VSCode. It just makes writing automated tests so much easier!

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

Hey : Since its early stage I'm a maven fan to build, document, release and so many so cool things šŸ¤©

Collapse
 
sebastian_wessel profile image
Sebastian Wessel
  • VSCode + Plugins + Typescript/Eslint/Esbuild & Co
  • Warp
  • Postman
  • TablePlus
  • Grammarly šŸ¤£
Collapse
 
noblica profile image
DuÅ”an Perković

VS Code for quite some time. I don't really use anything else, as I try to keep my setup as simple as possible.

Collapse
 
dragosb profile image
disced

For screenshots: Flameshot or Lightshot

Collapse
 
mywaysql profile image
mywaySQL

phpDesigner and myway SQL-Manager. Best Tools for my workflow.