DEV Community

James Heggs
James Heggs

Posted on • Updated on

GCP DevOps Certification - Pomodoro Two

Getting a feel for subjects

I wanted to get a feel for the areas of GCP that the certification would be looking into. This is their official overview and a couple of google searches led me to this overview

Looks like a mix of:

  • SRE Principles
  • Stackdriver monitoring/logging awareness
  • Tooling associated with DevOps like Terraform and Jenkins
  • GKE (basically Kubernetes)

To take the mock exam or not?

I also wondered as to whether I should take a go at the mock exam or not. If I do then it might help me understand the gaps between current accumulated knowledge and required certificate knowledge.

For now I've decided to hold off - favouring knowledge accumulation and hearing from others before testing my own awareness.

Β SRE Refresh

Its been some time since I went over the Google SRE book and I've never had professional guidance on this so I'll get started with hearing first hand about SRE principles. Making a start with the SRE course on Coursera

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
daveu1983 profile image
Daveu1983

i am doing the microsoft azure 900, and whizlabs is what I am using for mock questions. I think it was Β£15 for 5 full exams plus plenty of practice questions

Collapse
 
eggsy84 profile image
James Heggs

Oh brilliant - Had a quick look, can see preparation but can't see any practice exams for purchase?

whizlabs.com/blog/google-cloud-pro...

Collapse
 
daveu1983 profile image
Daveu1983

Hi James, just had a look and they don't have a devops one yet