DEV Community

Cover image for What is the best way to enter in Backend?
Gabriel Pedroza
Gabriel Pedroza

Posted on

What is the best way to enter in Backend?

I'm currently a frontend developer and I'm slowly moving into making bigger projects using nextjs and typescript. I want to dabble into backend and become a fullstack js/ts dev but since there are Prisma/Supabase/Firebase, is there really any point in learning things like express/django? Does anyone have any pointers in having a great transition to being a fullstack? I've heard using tRPC is the best place to start.

P.S: sorry for the lack of blog posts; I've been really busy with school and traveling but I'm somewhat back. School is still a bit hectic but I'm working on TDD post that has great visuals so you can really understand it in almost all regards.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen • Edited

The best way to enter backend development is to first understand the basics, such as HTTP, JWT, SQL and logging, for then to slowly add more parts to the mix. Backend development is not like frontend development, where you can learn one frontend framework such as React or Angular, a little bit CSS, and you're there. Backend development has thousands of "moving parts", where a tiny mistake implies a security breach of epic proportions.

I suggest you start out reading (and following) my own tutorials in these regards, you can find the first one below.

And then understand the basics of what it does, such as JWT authorisation, SQL, etc - Then only later as you feel comfortable with these constructs start adding additional knowledge on top of what you already know ...