DEV Community

Harrison Reid
Harrison Reid

Posted on

Beginners, What Would You Most Like to Build in a JavaScript Tutorial?

In many beginner JS tutorials, the end goal is to build an app of some sort, and they are frequently of a similar type: todo lists, stopwatch timers, pared down clones of common social media apps, etc.

There's obviously good reason for this - when you don't have to expend too much mental energy understanding what you're building, it's easier to understand how. They are also limited in scope, which makes them more manageable.

However when I was working through many of this type of tutorial a few years back, I've got to admit that I sometimes found myself getting a little bored...


So I'm interested to hear from the beginners out there - ignoring any issues of difficulty or complexity - what kind of app would you want to build in a project style tutorial?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
kaesekuchendev profile image
Hendrik Loewe

So, when i started to learning a new language, i really loved those projects i used even later on. So maybe not the typical ToDo App, since there are very professional ones already out there, but something that makes the learning process a bit easier. I always lobed to create an App where i could save my common mistakes and how to fix them. So when i got a problem, i at first used my application to look if i already did this mistake once and how i fixed it.
This could also be improved by for example a counter that lists my most common mistakes.

Collapse
 
harrison_codes profile image
Harrison Reid

This is a great suggestion - I love the idea of building something that's useful to you, and helps you continue to learn more effectively going forward. 🍻

Collapse
 
wilsonjaddy0 profile image
Wilson Jad

I was thinking to make an app which produce different kind of design template according to your website theme color, thats just an idea and will soon gonna implement on it. Hope that i will succeed.

Collapse
 
harrison_codes profile image
Harrison Reid

Awesome, sounds like a cool idea 😎 I'm sure you'll get it working with time!

Collapse
 
dougmr4 profile image
Doug MR

I would love to learn how to build a simple download counter for files on my website that can update after each click and be visible to all visitors. I would style with CSS of course.

Collapse
 
spyke187 profile image
Tristan Gillespie

Hey all!
I've always wanted to build a file manager like X-plore, with a few changes. I think it's mostly a Kotlin build, however that is my end goal.

Collapse
 
harrison_codes profile image
Harrison Reid

I've never heard of X-plore! I'll need to take a look. Sounds like a solid goal though.

Collapse
 
axelledrouge profile image
AxelleDRouge

As a beginner I would have loved to learn to make something useful/fun/pretty like a game or a data visualisation app or something else to play with data

Collapse
 
harrison_codes profile image
Harrison Reid

This was definitely me as well - I think one of the main reasons I drifted towards programming was because of how easily you can combine the technical with design and creativity.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

Something that feels useful somehow, kinda like Automate the Boring Stuff with Python.